help exchange   Host 10224
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10224
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 7, 2017

PHOTOS of my home and the Helpxer's room are shown on website link above. The QS room shown is the room for Helpers.

The work requirement in St Kilda is varied :

At present, I require some book keeping MYOB and Excel. Only apply if you know these and if you can work quickly and have a good attention to detail and have done this for a living or done your own accounts/book keeping.

Computer Skills - I have a website that needs some more doing to it. I would like to learn some more things Mac related.

Gardening - I always need help pruning overhanging branches I cannot reach. ladder work is necessary. Happy to hold the ladder! Carrying manageable plant-pots up stairs from court yard to first floor deck.

General household chores- cleaning, ironing, general odd jobs, a bit of maintenance around the house.

In the future and when the right person comes along:
A master craftsperson/couple - experienced carpenters please apply. I want to build a Tiny House (on a towable trailer). I want it to be sustainable, with solar panels, with lots of great storage ideas and well insulated for winter and summer. Someone with transport would be great as this project could happen on The Mornington Peninsula with fabulous accommodation 5 minutes walk from the beach.

My favourite Helpxers are mature, self starters, between 25-50s, have references and have done either Helpx, Woofing and Workaway schemes before? I prefer those who have experience of these schemes as you know the drill, get on with the jobs in hand and understand the joint expectation. Photos & references please.

The requirement is 4 hours a day, with a day off a week.

I would like either a single person or a couple, committed to giving generously of your 4 hours as if it were a paid job.

You would be staying in a comfortable, spacious Queen size bedroom (shown on website link) with an adjacent shared bathroom, which is in a quiet, comfortable in a 1880s Victorian house in one of St Kilda's best streets, directly opposite St Kilda Beach & Pier, with 3 trams at the end of the road (96, 16, 12). The City is a 20 minute tram ride. We are situated on the corner of Beaconsfield Parade & Fitzroy St, with shops, cafes & all the local facilities including Albert Park, Acland Street, Fitzroy Street etc. nearby. There is wifi internet throughout the house and I cook when around & I am also happy if you like cooking. There is excellent coffee, good food and I love a good exchange over a meal. Happy to cook when available, not always as I have a social life. I like helpers who also like cooking so they are independent.

I am looking for people who are independent, who have already lived away from home, have a really strong work ethic & can slot in very quickly, who are socially confident and can speak good english to understand the required tasks and above all are tidy and organised and not used to mum clearing up after them in shared living areas. I like a harmonious space to live in.

If you have done exchange work before and if you have good references on this site or elsewhere, please apply Good communication and transparency are highly valued.

Why come to Melbourne?.....because it's Australia's best City and even when the weather isn't hot, there is so much to do and see. The beach is 2 mins walk from the house. Albert Park is 3 mins walk from the house. Melbourne prides itself on being the cultural capital of the country. It is a great City all year round - there is always a festival on, the Grand Prix starts in March and we have the best independent music scene in Australia, there are literally hundreds of fabulous art galleries, museums, parks and attractions to visit here. It also has the best coffee and the best affordable food. South Melbourne Market is only a 10 minute tram ride. It is a City buzzing with talks, films, shows, film festivals, good shops and some of the best food in the world, at affordable prices. Whatever your thing is, you'll probably find it in Melbourne.

Looking forward to hearing from you.
Regards, Catherine

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use