help exchange   Host 10703
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Mont ras
All Year: Perhaps
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10703
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 12, 2017

Dear helpers, we are looking for help this autumn. Our house (in a fairly unspoilt part of the Costa Brava, 4km inland) is similar to a terraced house in the UK. It needs quite a lot of maintenance, which means help is often necessary. Since joining Helpx in 2011 ,my husband, Alfonso, already mobility challenged due to a motor-bike accident in 1970, had a fall and broke his femur. He spent 4 months in hospital during which time we were very grateful to all the helpxers who did some really good jobs painting, decorating, cooking etc. and gave us both the moral strength to get through this difficult period. Alfonso has managed to improve but is wheel-chair bound and has many challenges in his daily life. He cannot go out a lot or travel easily, so we have seen that helpers are still necessary for a variety of reasons:company, conversation, help in the garden etc. Therefore,practically no hard physical work is required but there's always something to do in the house and especially the garden. I also need a break sometimes and enjoy travelling for short periods, so helpers are really necessary then to stay with Alfonso and and complement the work done by paid carers.
The work may not amount to more than 3 hours a day,and we really enjoy meeting new people. Briefly, we need help and we expect interaction too.
If you are an animal lover, or want more activity, there is also the possibility to help at the local shelter for stray/abandoned dogs which is near our house.You can take the dogs for walks or help with their hygiene. the name of the shelter is Rodamon (www.apararodamon.com)

Please bear in mind that the weather here is often variable and it can be quite cold (except summer). This may not be so good for swimming but fine for cycling and walking. Easy to get to Girona from here and quite well communicated with Barcelona and Figueres (Salvador Dali!).

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use