help exchange   Host 10814
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Razac d'Eymet
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10814
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 18, 2011

We are a very recently-retired english couple who bought this (just over an) acre of land in 2004 and have built a 4-bed / 3.5 bath house on it.

We are very rural, served by small roads from surrounding towns. Minor town is 4km away, major town 17km with cinema etc. Our commune contains about 300 people of whom probably 30 are English or Dutch. This is typical of this area; remember, the whole area of Aquitaine was under English rule for many years in the 13th to 15th centuries.

The area is very active, particularly in the Summer at weekends. The weather is between UK and Spain - i.e. long summers, hot but not often scorching. Short Winters, half of December, all January, half February approx.

Bergerac airport, (20 minutes away from us) has budget services to UK. We would collect and return, of course.

There are many good eating places in Eymet, 4km, with a pizzeria, Chinese, and a variety of restaurants if you get tired of our excellent cuisine.

The area attracts a lot of tourists in the summer, mostly British, but also Dutch, Belgian, German. But it is not 'touristy' round here - most towns and villages are unspoilt by modern developments. There are many markets, attended by locals as well as tourists.

Our house, just about finished, looks into and over a valley. Ample parking. Access to secluded, private swimming pool.

We have many hobbies including active theatre, astronomy (I have several good telescopes and the air is clear here). We have broadband connection with WiFi, satellite TV (english) and will shortly also have a French satellite connection.

We are well-travelled between us {USA (including California, Florida, Alaska and Hawaii), Canada (Vancouver, Toronto, Niagara), Europe (extensive), Libya, Tunisia, Australia, Japan, Hong Kong and others...}.

We have a fairly extensive library (fiction, factual, scientific). We have a wide taste in music, from Opera through Classical and Musicals to popular groups of the 60's and 70's. Maybe 80's.

We were both Scientists in our careers {Engineering (nuclear, eco) and Physiology/Genetics}.

We are looking for fit people who can help with labouring to help build walls, keep meadow in trim and maybe some wall rendering (this is already underway). We have, or have access to, tools and labouring-type equipment (mixers, mowers).

We are a friendly couple, homely but reasonably worldy-wise.

We welcome people of any generation and ethnicity; English-speaking is preferable but we are reasonably ok with French.

Thanks and good luck.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use