help exchange   Host 10829
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Sussex
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.8 hectares
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10829
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 17, 2017

PLEASE TAKE TIME TO READ MY PROFILE COMPLETELY BEFORE APPLYING, IT IS REGULARLY UPDATED!
Helpxer needed for 10-14 days in early November 2017, then from and including early February 2018. Applicants and should be practical, flexible, independent and preferably with an interest in, or some knowledge of basic gardening and for November & February, should also be willing to help with some cleaning in the house and the unpacking of a wholefood bulk order.

If you wish to phone the landline number, please ONLY do so in the evenings between 7 & 9.30pm as during the day I am not often near the phone!

Please note that I cannot take Helpxers who require a placement 'for a month or two', as I do not have enough work !!
Usually I need Helpxers to come for 7-10 days starting with a week (or less) and then extending it if we get along OK together and there is enough work.

Since a serious accident 11 years ago which left me with some physical disabilities, I require help with garden and property maintenance, fruit picking, home preserving, some housework, etc.
Most of the work is straightforward but it is often simply physically beyond my capabilities now; many are things I previously did single handed, so I'm happy to instruct inexperienced but enthusiastic volunteers who wish to improve their skills base.

Helpxers that are able to work alone, use their own initiative and also don't mind some mornings alone in a rural situation are preferred, as I still attend physical rehabilitation activities several mornings a week.

We are as self sufficient as possible with fruit, vegetables, herbs and poultry- we also have a friendly terrier bitch, Spice. As my husband is employed full time locally, he has limited time to help me keep pace with the workload at home which I had previously managed quite easily. I rarely ask volunteers to do anything that I have not previously done myself, but they should be willing, fit, active and able to tackle the occasional job that is a little more physically demanding, eg digging some of the garden or emptying a compost bin.

We both tend to go to bed fairly early and rise early, so prefer Helpxers who are able to 'get up and get going' before 9am!

We don't have a TV, but do have lots of books in the house- both ficton and reference - which we're happy to lend to Helpxers. We also have broadband internet and Skype for Helpxers to use in their free time. We do eat some meat(usually wild or organic), as well as vegetarian meals and I can cater for special dietary needs if given sufficient notice.

We both have plenty of country and garden knowledge and skills to share; due to poor local public transport we are willing to collect helpers from our nearest train station(Haywards Heath) or bus stop by prior arrangement.

This is a beautiful area of the High Weald with good woodland walks and cycling - we can loan Helpxers bikes (sorry, we don't have spare helmets)and a local map.

PLEASE NOTE that local public transport is poor and the nearest shops are 6km; nearest town & station (Haywards Heath) is 12 km, though we usually go there once a week.

Accomodation is independently in a small comfortably furnished cabin which has facilities for making hot drinks, a single bed and wood burner for heating; bathroom facilities are shared with the household; further information available upon application.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use