help exchange   Host 11411
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Gold Coast/Brisbane
All Year: Yes.
Area (ha): 13
Persons: 2 (1 queen size bed)
Category: Other
Host ID: 11411
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 25, 2017

I currently have a vacancy for a couple from Thursday 29 June for one week.
The work is outside gardening work regardless of the weather.

Our emphasis is on your privacy as your accommodation is not in the house with us but in a beautiful cabin, with use of a solar heated swimming pool (except from June to August as we turn the heating off during winter).

WE DO NOT NEED HELP WITH LOOKING AFTER ANIMALS, HOUSEWORK, COOKING OR BABYSITTING.

Assistance is required with helping shovel gravel, removing branches and foliage from trees we have had cut down and general landscaping duties.

Please read my listing carefully all the way through before emailing me as you need to be aware of the kind of work you will be doing.

We offer great, private accommodation and food in return for 20 hours/week outdoor work (regardless of weather). The work is outdoors and physical, and the accommodation is great! It is like a resort!
We also expect you to keep the cabin very clean and tidy as it is brand new, and also clean the cabin really well before you leave to ensure it is left as clean as you found it. This is not counted in your work hours.If you are not good at cleaning, please don't apply!

We always like to welcome people who can use a chainsaw safely but this is not essential.

We want help from people who are prepared to do outdoor work that requires physical labour and who don't mind getting their hands dirty!

Accommodation is for TWO people at a time ONLY, sharing a queen sized bed (no individuals please). We can take a third person if they don't mind an air mattress on the floor. We usually take people for one week but we are prepared to negotiate a few extra days if you are good workers.

Your OWN TRANSPORT is essential as we are 12 km from public transport.
PLEASE don't request a placement if you don't have a car unless all you want to do is work, swim in the pool, read books and watch DVDs, as you will be stuck here, and it's a long walk from the station! It might be possible to pick you up from the station but this would have to be organised well BEFORE you plan to come here.

Helpers will be housed in their own luxury cabin with a full kitchen/living room, bedroom and bathroom with TV and DVD player (no aerial at the moment so DVDs only). There is also a washing machine in the cabin.

The cabin is completely new and luxurious. It's not the one in the photos, it's better! (I haven't got around to taking the new photos yet).

You are welcome to use the large solar-heated swimming pool but it's getting a bit cold now!.

Your accommodation is fully self-contained, completely separate from the main house and not over-looked by anyone, with great views across the valley so it's very private and romantic!

Pre-paid wi-fi access is available at a basic cost so you just pay for what you use. You need to load it with $20 but this will last you for ten days. Most people use their mobile phone data.Reception is really good if you are with Telstra but not so good with Optus or Vodaphone
You can also access free wi-fi for video skype etc. at Beenleigh library which is 10 minutes drive away.

A variety of DVDs can be borrowed from the hosts.

The property is rural, small acreage (32 acres), situated midway between Brisbane and the Gold Coast, so this provides a good base for exploring SE Qld. The train and bus station with regular access to Brisbane and the Gold Coast is 12 km away in Beenleigh, but you need transport to get to the station. Travel time to Brisbane and Gold Coast by car is approx 40 mins.
Byron Bay is about 90 minutes easy drive.
Picturesque Tamborine Mountain is 20 mins drive away.
Shops (suburbia) are 12 km away.

We expect you to work 4 hours each morning for 5 days so that in the afternoons and on your 2 days off you can visit the Gold Coast, Theme Parks (e.g. Dreamworld, Movie World etc.), Brisbane, Lamington National Park, Tamborine Mountain etc., or just relax around here. If you arrive late in the day you will get 7 nights accommodation for your 20 hours work.so you may only get one whole free day, or you can work 5 hours a day for 4 days and get 2 days free.

Bird life, kangaroos, wallabies, goannas etc abound.

You will be provided with all your food for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
You will prepare all your own meals with the supplies which we provide.
We do not cater for vegetarians.
On arrival you will have dinner in the main house with the hosts.
The emphasis here is on your privacy and you having the flexibility to do your own thing.

The hosts are a couple in their 60s with 5 grown up kids (no longer living at home) and 15 small grandchildren.
We have three goats, 2 agisted horses and lots of native animals so you will see possums, kangaroos, wallabies, birds, large goannas etc.

Unfortunately, we cannot provide second year visas as we are not remote.

We think this place is paradise but it's really nice to get help from willing workers.

If you are traveling to the Sunshine Coast from here we can put you in touch with our daughter and her partner who are also HelpX hosts with a lovely property close to Noosa.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use