help exchange   Host 12103
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


O Briens Bridge
All Year: Currently Full
Area (ha): East Clare
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 12103
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 29, 2011

Who we are.....I'm a mum of 1 child, a boy of 11 [who is funny, bright and very talented]. My mother, who has a ginger cat, lives with us. We live in the countryside. Im also a full-time student and work part-time during the weekend. We live in a traditional farmhouse, which is over 150 years old, in beautiful East Clare. Situated in the countryside, we are close to Limerick city [15km]. There is a bus service that runs daily to Limerick. We are closer yet to the well known village of O Briens Bridge [1km], adjacent to the river Shannon, [famous for its fishing, walkways and regattas]. Down the road [6km] stand the scenic town-lands of Killaloe and Ballina. A beautiful arched bridge spans the river joining these two towns, surrounded by small mountains overlooking Lough Derg. We have 2 dogs, a German Shepard/Labrador named Scooby, who is a perfect lady, and a Beagle named Tommy, who [although not so well mannered] is alot of fun. We also have a ginger cat called Whiskey who enjoys a cuddle from time to time. We have a big open garden at the rear of the house and a small field out behind it, in which potatoes and vegetables were once grown. Although we live a hectic life, we do try to maintain a balance and spend time together as a family. We cycle, walk the dogs down the back roads, explore the nearby mountains and meander by the river, play Wii and PS2/PS3 games, swim, bike, movies, we also enjoy camping, visiting dear friends across the island and abroad [when it's affordable], and go wherever our journey takes us.

What Im looking for..... Being a single mum juggling all that I do especially in todays climate is not easy. I need some help, especially now that I am back at college! The main help that I am seeking is this... I need someone to be here for my son when he comes home from school, maybe cook for him, help with some homework and hang out with him until I get home from college. And also, to do some cleaning in the house and walk or play with the dogs. Experience is not necessary as I believe that all people share unique and wonderful qualities and somewhere along our journey we discover skills that we never knew we had. None of it is hard work, and when the sun shines it can be very enjoyable. Although some days may seem the same, every day can also be uniquely different. And your help would not be all day, every day. No experience is needed just a willingness to enter our little world, initiative to learn and explore new things and a smidgen of patience with my son and our beagle [who is still young]. I am looking for someone to stay with us until next June, which will give you time to rest in one place during the winter months in Ireland.

What you'll get.....If you are interested, then please come stay. We would be honoured and I love having people around. You'll have your own private bedroom with scenic views to the front of the house. You'll be well fed. That I can promise. I enjoy food and love cooking for other people and tasting what you may cook [if you want to]! You'll be included in our family and hopefully become an honourable member. You are always welcome to join us with any activities we may be doing or places we may go. I will also do my best to accommodate you with any activities you may wish to pursue. Although I will need your help, mainly during the week days, you will have plenty of free time. There are busses that pass on the main road [we live a 5 minute walk up the back road] and there is also a bicycle available for you to use. There are many beautiful places to explore, both historic and contemporary based, and new friendships to endeavour. Our home is very old and depending on the weather [can sometimes be a little cold], but in general, it is cosy and comfortable and welcoming, with fast wireless internet and sky TV at your disposal.

Please contact me if you think you might like to come and stay. Time is of no limit. My door is always open and you are very much welcomed.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use