help exchange   Host 12278
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


nr Richelieu
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 12278
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 25, 2017

Hello, We are Kate and Vince and 4 cats. We live in a 17th Century house on a hill, 10 minutes drive from Richelieu. We are situated 1 hour from Tours or Poitiers Airport and 15 minutes drive from Chatellerault where there is a good train service. We are an excellent stop off point if you are heading North or South.....
The Sunrise views from our hill are stunning. We love the natural life and grow much of our own food. We are working towards opening a small retreat centre which focuses on organic raw food for healing and painting courses.
We would really like health minded people to come and stay with us and help with numerous things, depending on your skills and abilities. Firstly singles or couples to look after our cats for longer stays if possible. 1-2 weeks or even 2-3 months so we can come and go for weekends and know our place is looked after. We have a lovely garden house for you to stay in with a super king bed and bathroom en-suite overlooking the veggie garden and picturesque valley or a room in the main house depending on how many people are staying. We also have good Internet for your use. We also have a living room with your own TV for watching DVD's if we are busy working evenings in our living room. We need to stress that anyone wanting to stay with us needs to be fairly independent with their time.. Our space would suit someone that has a creative nature and would want to spend time painting, making music or writing as we are fairly quite for 5 days of the week due to our own work and creative projects, although we love making delicious meals with our guests and sitting on the porch at night eating healthy meals and watching the sunset..
These are the things we need help with:
1. Gardening, weeding, digging, moving rocks.
2. Picking out and Repointing walls (very easy we can show you!)
3. Repointing interior walls using local stone and Sand/Chaux using ancient building methods
4. Painting windows
Skilled work if you have an special skills but not essential:
1.Plumbing

Any building skills are a bonus but not needed as it is all pretty straight forward.

Our meals are all vegetarian and some food is from the garden, plus homemade breads, and organic wine.If you want to learn about making amazing energising raw food you can always help out in the kitchen as I'll include some raw food options with dinner as well as cooked vegetarian food.
If you eat meat we are fine with you cooking it for yourself and we can add that to the shopping list but as vegetarians we prefer not to cook it ourselves mainly because we don't know how to!


We would like at least 4 hours work a day 3 days a week and if you would like to house sit for longer so we can come and go all you would need to do is look after the garden and feed the cats and give them love and attention when we are away so you can chill. We are happy with singles or couples.

There is a local village 10 minute bike ride away which has the basics, bakery, newsagents, restaurant, post office, pharmacy, doctor, dentist. Work time can be flexible if you want to go to market in the moated town of Richelieu which we can drive you to. We can also drop you off at the train station if you want to visit Tours of Poitiers for weekends. We have to work on Saturdays so you will need to be pretty self sufficient with your own time and entertainment during the day as weekends are the only time we have for dedicated building work as we have to work online during the week for half of each day. Its no problem giving you a lift to the local train station though or you can come with us on Market days to our local town or Sundays in the summer we go to local fairs.
Some evenings after dinner we have to work Online and have to focus on that, so you can watch movies or read from our extensive library in your own living room. We are flexible with your staying time. 1 week minimum. 2 weeks good for us. 1-3 months is good too. Couples, singles and friends travelling together welcome. We can only take up to 1 couple or 2 single helpers at a time. Sorry, we cannot accept anyone travelling with Dogs as it would stress our cats out too much.
We are very chilled and relaxed.... Yoga and Pilates some mornings (you can join us if you like). We have bicycles you can use to explore the area.
Our Blog page hasn't been updated for years as I've been so busy on building the house but we plan to start updating it again but you can get the gist of things.
We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you to stay with us. Many Blessings Kate & Vince

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use