help exchange   Host 12816
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


90km north of Brisbane
All Year: Not during Christmas
Area (ha): 27.5
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 12816
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 14, 2017

Hi All

Needing a couple NOW.

Are you in Brisbane, or heading there soon, and looking for a quiet, peaceful stay on a farming property with beautiful surroundings.

Looking for a COUPLE to help out with various jobs around the farm. ESPECIALLY NEEDED is a GOOD HORSE RIDER for handling,training,riding.
Must be able to speak and understand English.

The new foals have arrived now and as usual are very cute.

Mature age helpers very welcome.

At the moment there is the accommodation cabin to be finished, fences to attend to and painting to be done; foals to handle, horses to ride and train, and various farm jobs to keep ourselves busy.

We are very blessed to be living on a riverfront property, about 84km NW of Brisbane. This is a small working farm and looks like one, as well as a place of peace, beauty and serenity, with open river flats,trees shrubs, water features and plenty of bird life.

Main activity is general farm jobs,building,helping with any of the following, (depending on what we are doing at the time), mobile sawmill,handling timber, painting,fencing,gardening foal handling,as well as training, and riding of horses.( IF a good enough rider).

We are now retired,but still find lots of work to do to keep active.We are a caring christian couple who are young at heart,fit for our age,friendly,casual, non alcohol users or smokers, with a good sense of humor, and easy to get along with.

Our 2 adult sons also live on the property.

Private caravan, not new, but comfortable, accommodation is provided,in a leafy setting, until the cabin is ready. And of course you are very welcome to BYO,

You will be served a good variety of tasty, nutritious salads and home cooked meals, with our family. We have mainly meat meals.

If you require extra snacks,or a special diet,you are welcome to bring your own.

We breed Australian stock horses and have about 30 on the property,all paddock reared and fed, SORRY,NO STABLE WORK.

To be fair,you will be expected to help us with WORK for around 30 hours over a week.

The working day normally starts after breakfast and continues until lunchtime, with a morning tea break included.Saturday will include 2.5 hours after lunch,and you can have a free day on Sunday. Afternoon tea is available IF REQUIRED as well.

We have 1 dog Dusty, a white Kelpie, As he belongs to Des and IS IN TRAINING as a working dog, you are respectfully asked NOT TO PLAY WITH HIM OR PAT HIM TOO MUCH, as this spoils him as a worker. 2 cats, Ossie and Batty, some milking cows and calves, geese and hens. Also many wild water birds,including swans and pelican's sometimes. Plenty of fish in the river, you might be lucky enough to see the platypus as well.

Leisure activities can include - videos,canoeing, fishing, cycling, swimming, hiking, horse riding, ( for the experienced ) or you can have a go in the yards if only a learner, and cow milking.

Half day trail rides and mountain hikes can be arranged for enthusiasts.

We have hosted approximately 650 backpackers over 19 years.

Des has done wwoofing in Australia, N.Z and Guernsey Island.

UNFORTUNATELY HOST HAS A DISTRESSING, PAINFUL REACTION TO THE SCENT, OR SMELL, IN PERSONAL TOILETRY AND LAUNDRY PRODUCTS.

Guests are asked PLEASE do not wear any HIGHLY PERFUMED PRODUCTS to, or on the property.

All products marked "SENSITIVE" are usually OK. And also NATURAL CRYSTAL DEODERANT.

However basic products are provided for your use,if your own are not suitable to use here.

WE ASK PLEASE --- NO DRUGS, Limited use of alcohol, and NO SMOKING in or close to any acommodation.

MINIMUM STAY ONE WEEK

Enjoy your travels, keep safe and well, and feel free to contact us at any time.

Current pictures show 1-Ourselves with our 4 adult children. 2-Our driveway in from our front gate.3-French helpers enjoying a bike ride.4-Helper sanding timber,5-Des working the mobile sawmill.6 Helper training one of the horses.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use