help exchange   Host 13008
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 13008
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 28, 2018


We (John and Cher) live in a open sunny modern home at Cable Bay, near Nelson. Your room is lovely and comfortable. We live on the edge of a tidal estuary and it is a short walk to the swimming beach. We have kayaking, swimming & walking tracks, fishing and snorkelling close by. It is a 25 minute drive to the closest town Nelson. The nearest shop is 10 minute drive away or 30 minutes by bike. We have wifi but no mobile reception.

The work you would be doing includes home gardening, lots of weeding, clearing paths, odd jobs around our half acre section and organic garden, a little house work (we have a cleaner), and home maintenance. Some practical skills in building and use of machinery such as weedeaters would be great. Because we work full time, and we are out on some evenings we prefer experienced helpers who enjoy working unsupervised on their own as we are often working. Cher works at her home office 3 days a week and one of us often goes to the city if you need to be picked up.
We normally cook whole plant based based diet from our vegetable garden, supplemented by fish. we eat very little meat or dairy

We like our helpers to stay minimum of a week. no smokers please.
We always look at your previous host references in order to help us make a decision about your stay and so we appreciate any efforts you make to provide this information. Please only apply if you have a current a work permit

If you need time to look around the region,we are flexible with working hours and days. Come prepared to potentially work for a whole days during the weekend and take whole days off during the week
We are sure you will love our little piece of paradise and we look forward to meeting you.
Cher Williscroft and John Campbell

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use