help exchange   Host 1313
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5 (1.25 acres)
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 1313
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 4, 2017

Ken, Robyn & Barbara (Robyn's sister) would like to welcome you to "Campania" in the beautiful Dandenong Ranges, about 50 minutes east of Melbourne CBD.

Springtime in the Dandenong Ranges - Magical!!

November & December 17: We are preparing our property for summer so there is work to be done in the garden to keep it clear of bark & branches. We are also giving the house a spring-clean.

We really appreciate accommodating helpers with some skills &/or experience, so please let us know what you have been doing, whether personal or professional, so that we can meet our expectations as well as your own of improving your English, seeing Australia and experiencing life with an Australian family.

In exchange for 3-4 hours work each day, with weekends off, we offer private accommodation in our little cabin on the property (known as the 'cubby'); 2 evening meals per week with us, plus morning/afternoon tea while we are working together; and some basic food supplies to get you started. Other meals will be at your own cost & prepared by you in the cubby - there are plenty of shops nearby, within walking distance; Aldi & Safeway 10 minutes by car or bus; and we can often drive you to the shops.

Work hours can usually be negotiated to fit in with your schedule & our needs, eg. working more hours one day & fewer or none the next. Just ask! Weekends off after 5 days.

We normally offer one or two weeks to start with & may extend if we have enough work & we all get on well together. Please note that we don't offer accomodation for fewer than 6 days. Although we may not eat together every day, we will be sharing plenty of cups of tea/coffee & working side-by-side, so lots of opportunities to exchange ideas & learn about each other.

The work at "Campania" generally includes maintenance, renovation, painting, gardening & domestic cleaning.

There is much to do locally - we are close to the beautiful National Rhododendron Gardens (free entry); also bush walking, bike riding, sight-seeing, art & craft galleries, wineries, public (free) gardens & eating out (2 pubs nearby) - plus we are not too far from the city if you want a night out on the town. See: www.villagesofmtdandenong.com.au

At "Campania" we entertain our two dogs, a 12 year old Golden Retriever 'Bailey' and 'Chance', an 8 year old Corgi. Both are gentle & friendly, mostly well-behaved! They love being taken for walks & chasing a ball. If you are afraid of dogs, this is not the place for you! We also have a friendly 5 year old cat "Typsy".

The cubby is cosy but self-contained, with cooking facilities, comfortable clic-clac couch/double bed, heating/cooling, linen & towels etc, and bathroom with shower & basin. A toilet & laundry are a few metres away. It has a veranda overlooking our lovely 1.3 acre of gardens. Wifi in the cubby & in the main house & verandas.

Public transport is good. There are regular trains from the city to nearby Croydon station plus local bus routes.

Since we joined Help Exchange 12 years ago we have enjoyed visits from many overseas travellers - & they have thoroughly enjoyed their stays too. We have even visited several of them when we were overseas! We travel overseas regularly ourselves & live in SW France for 4 months each year. If you speak French, perhaps you can help us with our French while we help you with your English! Ken speaks Cantonese & Mandarin too.

Cheers,
Robyn, Ken & Barbara.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use