help exchange   Host 13987
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Granada
All Year: No
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 13987
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 15, 2015

~Sorry I have all the helpers I need now for 2015~

Hi, I am forty-four years old and live with my family in the beautiful foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountain range in Southern Spain, just above the small spa town of Lanjaron in the province of Granada, in Andalucia. i moved out here about fifteen years ago, having previously lived in London where I worked in the catering industry. i own a gorgeous plot of land at about 850m altitude and have a festival catering business - i need help with both.

When I first arrived out here in 1999, I was looking for a way to live without the "work all week just to pay the bills" burden,which my life had been hijacked by in London.I was exploring a path to live surrounded by nature and have quality time for myself.But back then I wasnt conscious of all this.I was just looking to explore life and get back to myself a bit.

All my worldly belongings were in my backpack,I had a beaten up old car and way less than 1000 pounds to my name.For those first few years out here I lived with a number of families in a "Helpx" kind of way,and learnt so much without necessarily being aware of what I was learning.

Eventually I got a loan and I bought a plot of land,up a dirt track above a small town in the mountains.
I live in the most beautiful and peaceful surroundings now and have built myself(on a very low budget)a small cabin/house thing where I live with my family and two friendly dogs.

About ten years ago I took two frying pans,a camping gas cooker and a table to a local music festival and quietly set myself up to sell pancakes.I was down to my last 50 pounds in the whole world and spent it all on ingredients.I knew that I didnt have any money left to buy petrol for the journey home and had to sell something.By the end of the first night I had sold out and the next day I reinvested all my takings in more ingredients.During the festival I met hundreds of people and had a great time.I arrived home with 350 pounds and such a sense of relief and euphoria.

I now trade at 4 or 5 music festivals a year in the summer months and nurture my son and our land during the rest of the year.I still only cover the bills but I have loads of quality time,which I spend mainly outdoors and am sooo happy that life has lead me here.


I am looking for 2 pairs of helpers to help me between early may and mid-August this year. i say pairs because the accommodation i provide (caravan and a tent) are small and best suited to 2 people who know each other well enough to share a small living space.I also have a space for one solo helper. your living area is surrounded by trees, and as spring and summer daytime temperatures are normally between 25-35 degrees centigrade, you may choose (as I do) to spend most of your waking and sleeping time outdoors. There is a lot of outdoor privacy on the land and the views are stunning. Spectacular walking opportunities abound out here and the area is sparsely populated.The coast is only 40km away to the south and the city of Granada lies 50km away to the north.The highest mountain peak "Mulhacen"is over 3000metres and has stunning views.

I will give preference to people with some bar/catering experience and spanish but enthusiasm and being reasonably physically fit are the prime requisites along with a positive outlook on life.

You will have basic self catering facilities while staying on the land. Work will be varied including strimming, watering, gardening and labouring. Although i am not certified as organic, organic practices prevail on my land, which has a beautiful view of the Med and surrounding mountains. its a small chunk of paradise, filled with olive trees, peach, apple, pear, plum, fig, chestnut, cherry, walnut, almond, quince, grapevines. No gardening experience is necessary, only a willingness to learn and help.Most of the work will be physical and always outdoors in beautiful,peaceful surroundings.I am looking for about 20hrs per week of help on the land and am flexible regarding this.

Sometimes you can join me and my team, preparing and selling food at some of Europe's biggest music Festivals here in Spain. i will provide transport to and from the festivals, food and beverages, festival tickets and accommodation (usually camping or campervan). I need people who can fit into our team and help with simple food preparation, serving customers across the counter, setting up and packing down our festival kitchen and being on your feet for long hours in our well organised and busy kitchen and keep smiling.. while at the festivals you will be required to work 10 hrs per day - usually between 7pm and 5am. be warned these are long hours and it is hard work but we do have a lot of fun and tend to party while we work, often with a good view of the main stage.

After each festival you will have a few days off once we get back to Andalucia,where you can laze on the land,take off to the coast and explore the area or just sleep,, you will have earned it! most of the catering team (8 people) have been working with me for over 6 years and although each festival leaves us totally exhausted, they enjoy the experience and i have such respect for them all. we are a very professional team, working flat out when necessary but with a very friendly atmosphere and all really love working together in an environment which contrasts to our normal,quiet mountain lives. you will be well looked after and equally expected to pull your weight.Very little opportunity exists to explore the festivals we work at,as we go to work.Fortunately the festival comes to us and we are very much a part of it,feeding hundreds of people every day.

Sound like fun??

On the land i have limited internet access available for your use and there is also an internet cafe/bar in town (25mins walk). there is no TV on the land but the views and birdsong provide a constant source of entertainment. Solar panels provide the electricity on the land and all drinking water is fresh from the spring. i will be happy to collect you from Lanjaron town and will be happy to drop you off there at the end of your stay. there is a lot more that i could tell you but i invite you to ask the questions by email.

i look forward to hearing from you.



Dan

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use