help exchange   Host 1435
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Christchurch
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.12
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 1435
Region: Christchurch

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 14, 2017

Sorry we are now fully booked until March 2018.

Are you interested in spending some time in Christchurch during your travels? We have spent the past 15 years hosting helpers and woofers on our farm in Le Bons Bay and our lifestyle block in Little River but recently our family life required a shift to town. We now have a huge garden, new orchard plans and an old villa, all of which could use your help.

We figure being in town could be useful for those just arriving or soon to be leaving from Christchurch. Or perhaps those who just need a few days or weeks with a roof over their heads, a warm cozy fireplace and running water rather than a small self-contained van this winter?

As you can take the farmers to town but you can't take the farm out of our hearts, we still have chickens, cats, dog, other other furry pets at our home, and a nearby leased paddock with our milking cow, calf and donkey.

In exchange for about 4 hours work on one of our many projects - renovating, fencing, building, maintenance, cleaning house or cooking. We offer you accommodation and great home cooked meals. We are willing to tailor jobs to any individuals with special skills such as building, chainsawing, landscaping, tree pruning, plumbing, painting. We can always find jobs for those who want to learn something new. And we are always learning too and like to find helpers willing to teach us new things and cook us their favorite dishes.

We also still own a 500 acre family farm in Le Bons Bay so you may get to travel with us over there or are welcome to visit it during your adventures. Beautiful Le Bons Bay is a very small rural community with a safe sandy swimming beach, 1/2 hour drive from Akaroa and 2 hours from Christchurch.

We are a mixed Vegetarian/Meat Eating family and are happy to accommodate most dietary needs, including vegan, wheat-free, dairy-free etc but a strictly NON-smoking household. (to clarify we DO NOT take ANYONE who smokes as helpers and must be strict on this due to family health issues) Ross is a Kiwi boat builder & woodworker, I am a Canadian archaeologist and we have 3 kids (only 2 still at home).

We have fun stuff to borrow like bikes, fishing rods, kayaks, life-jackets, tents & sleeping bags if you want a local overnight outside. Please note we are a TV free house but do have a large flat screen for movies and good internet connection now that we live in town.
We are quite booked for the next few weeks but taking interested people in early June or into July.

Our policy on helpers is - the better they are treated the harder they work:)

Please send us an email if you'd like to join us or phone. We do have some bookings well in advance but there may be a short gap between bookings you may fit into your travels. Please also be aware that my husband has had a stroke and other health issue and some times we have to make changes of plans at short notice - thanks for your understanding.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use