help exchange   Host 14392
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Kingsbridge
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 14392
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 3, 2018

Our 17th century farmhouse is home to Piers, Sue, three young people aged 17-21 (two are away at university), two house cats and a small, very friendly dog. Our optimum stay length is two or three weeks and we have vacancies in Spring 2018.

We offer helpxers comfortable accommodation in a prime tourist area, excellent food and a genuine welcome, in return for seriously hard work.

Our home is within sight of the sea in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. There are shingle beaches to walk to and steep-sided sandy coves easily reachable by bike (although the roads are hilly!). South Devon is an enormously popular tourist destination from Easter to October, when it earns its reputation as the sunniest part of England.

We moved here six years ago and have established a multi-award-winning business running stylish, comfortable self-catering holiday cottages. We live on site in the main farmhouse, where we accommodate helpxers in cosy, clean guest rooms. You will have your own TV, and internet access.

We don't use helpxers for the routine cleaning and maintenance of the holiday cottages - we have permanent local staff for that. Instead, you help with jobs around the farmstead, mainly gardening and painting. We keep chickens and ducks, a few pigs and a small flock of sheep, a dressage horse and a (retired) pony, which means you should also be willing to assist with cleaning out the animal housing if required. We are happy to let you help with feeding and handling animals if you want to learn, but please don't picture yourself working with animals all day. The dressage horse is a demanding competition animal and is not usually made available for helpxers to ride.

We expect about 30 hours of work in return for a week of bed and full board. You must be ready to work on your own some of the time; we don't ask you to do anything we aren't willing to do ourselves.

Digging, weeding and mucking-out is hard work, so we need people who are reasonably fit and strong. You should bring your own outdoor clothes, some of which need to be warm (even in summer). We have a selection of rubber boots, but you need your own stout shoes and almost certainly a waterproof! We sometimes have to work outside when it is raining and you must not mind getting dirty.

We like having visitors, and expect them to eat most meals with our family. We enjoy a diverse range of ingredients, including our own lamb, pork and bacon. In this house, meals are important social occasions, so being an adaptable and enthusiastic eater is essential for a stay here! Foreign language speakers are very welcome, and we can help with improving your English - French, Italian and German are all spoken fluently here. (We voted to remain in the European Union.) Sue is a painter, while Piers and the children are musicians. We have a decent piano and a selection of other instruments.

In your free time, you may like to explore the surrounding country, which is well worth the effort. There are beautiful coastal walks and we have good maps to lend you. There is also a bicycle you could borrow. We have body boards and a couple of kayaks; windsurfing, sailing and other water sports are available a little further afield (although you would probably need your own transport).

The wider area of South Devon has many interesting sights and attractions. The sailing port of Dartmouth is about 12km and the market town of Kingsbridge is about 8km. If we are going by car, we can usually give you a lift, but local public transport provides better opportunities for independent travel than in many rural areas. A regular bus service from Chillington (1.5km) runs to Dartmouth one way and Kingsbridge the other (and all the villages in between). From Kingsbridge, the same bus goes directly through to Plymouth, which is our nearest city. Totnes, the administrative centre of this part of Devon, is about 25 km and can also be reached by bus via Kingsbridge. It is an interesting and slightly alternative place that has a direct rail link to Cornwall, or London and beyond.

In summary, we like our helpxers to have a good time and try our best to make this a high value experience for both parties. We offer just a few spaces each year but, if you are hard-working, adaptable and practical, we would love to host you.

We like the first contact to be written - i.e e-mail, not phone call or text. And please make it a personal e-mail that shows you have read and thought about our profile!

We have a positive and welcoming attitude towards young people and we appreciate that everyone starts with little experience. However, we expect your application to provide evidence that you are able to make a useful work contribution in return for our hospitality. You need to tell us about things you have done that show you are hard-working and quick to learn at practical jobs like painting, gardening, building or farming. Please support your application with at least one reference (recommendation) from someone you have worked for - possibly a previous work exchange host, perhaps a current or past employer, or even a teacher from school or university.

One final point: in the last year, we have begun to get a lot of applications from families. We love children, but this opportunity is not suitable for them.



Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use