help exchange   Host 14880
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Wellington
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10.5
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 14880
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 6, 2017

We are now looking for volunteers from September onwards.

Hi! We are a vegan animal sanctuary nestled up in the hills next to the incredibly scenic Tararua National Park, just over an hour from Wellington. Every day we care for over 160 animals (ponies, cows, goats, pigs, sheep, chickens, ducks, cats, and more) who have been abandoned, injured or mistreated.

We are looking for people, either single or a couple, to come and join us for a minimum of a month but prefer people to stay on longer. If you are the right fit there might be a more permanent place for you – some people choose to stay for a year or more.

To finance the Sanctuary we make and sell vegan pies and run 3 op-shops. As part of your volunteering with us you would be asked to do 1-2 shifts in the op-shop per week as well as an occasional kitchen shift for making pies. We are looking for people who like cooking and are capable of following recipes.

Please only apply if you are vegetarian or vegan (although you would be expected to eat vegan whilst at the sanctuary). We are hoping to find someone who shares our commitment to animals and the environment and who we can connect with ethically. Lesbian/Gay/Bi/Trans/Queer+ friendly is essential.

We have a lot of inquiries so a priority is always given to activists and people with passion around the environment, human rights and other social concerns.

Daily tasks are feeding the animals, projects and sometimes shifts in the Op-shops in exchange for a room and meals.

Accommodation is a room in a shared house with wifi, heating etc. Food is paid for, although you would be expected to help out with communal cooking for yourself and the other 3-5 people in the house. We have a spare car that you can use to get into town and the local area as well as a bike if you can’t drive.

Tasks include tree planting, gardening, animal shelter building, communal cooking, animal feeding, animal care and making vegan pies. Volunteering in our fundraising opshop is part of the project and is easy and fun!

We would love to meet a friendly, independent volunteer who isn’t afraid to get muddy and learn new skills. Please understand that if we don’t answer emails right away, we’re probably busy looking after the animals and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible.
Please put the month that suits you best to come and stay with us in the
subject header of your message.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use