help exchange   Host 14948
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Alix
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 600
Persons: 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 14948
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 7, 2017



Our farm is nestled next to a nature conservation areas and is a short jaunt to the lake. We are transitioning the older family farm into an updated food producing farm based on permaculture and Holistic management principles.

Looking for keen helpers and problem solvers to be rewarded with nourishing, homegrown/cooked food and lots of places to explore.

Summers here are busy with raising beef, pork, chicken and turkey for direct market to eaters as well as veggies and perennial food systems. You will be helping us out with daily chores, gardening, improving water/feeder infrastructure, general farm maintenance jobs. We have a large mechanical shop in need of organizing; knowledge of tools and equipment would be a huge asset, but not necessary. We will do our best to meet your skills and learning interests.

We're open to stays of 10days or longer - depending on what your expectations and motivations are. Expectations are 4-5 hour days, 6 days a week, but varies depending on needs and plans. Expect to cook and help prepare meals.

We are about 45 minutes from the nearest urban centre and may make the trip about once a month; making a weekly trip to the closest town 20 minutes away. We find the people who enjoy staying with us are those who are self-starters and enjoy country-life, not needing to be in a regular urban setting. Bicycles available to ride into town.

Non-smokers only please; we are social drinkers and enjoy making our own beer and wine; we eat an omnivorous diet based on the food we produce ourselves. We are two couples and one three year old. Accommodation is a motor home. Couples welcome.

Check us out on Facebook, Instagram and our homepage www.earthworksfarm.ca

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use