help exchange   Host 14963
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Byala Ruse
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2,800 sq metres
Persons: 2-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 14963
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 26, 2018

Hi, I am Cathy and I have been living in Bulgaria since mid-July 2012. I am a very young 74 and live here all year round cooking healthy vegetarian and meat meals for my volunteers, friends and family. I love Bulgaria and the countryside and have no desire or intention of returning to the rat-race!

It is now the 26th of January 2018. I am hoping to find a married volunteer couple who would like to come and house-sit and pet-sit for me as soon as possible for two to three months...until the Spring basically. I need help preparing my personal belongings and some of the smaller furniture items for a move I hope to make in April or May. There is some painting and cleaning to be done and you need to be used to the cold, as the weather has been very cold in the past week or so. You can cook for yourselves but I will provide a daily amount for you to cover that. The big double room is a cold room but I will provide you with a heater so you can warm the room before bedtime.

The house has two bedrooms, one double (concreted but not covered) and one single, a hall/lounge, a dining room, bathroom and shower room, a kitchen and an entrance porch. The kitchen needs tiling but is quite liveable in as it is or I could put lino down on it. I may need to buy a wood-burning stove for the kitchen...depending on affording it. The house is basic and rustic in style. It does, however, have a toilet, bath, shower room etc.

Ideally, you would need to have some experience as there are walls to be plaster-boarded and painted, tiles to be laid in various places and more. Willingness to help is more important though.

We now have Fibre Optic Broadband in the house, which has greatly improved our usage, so if you have a TV, you will be able to watch English programmes and films and use the internet too. I have not had a TV for 5 years!

The nearest town, Byala, is about 15 kilometres from the village and I go shopping on the bus once a week or just to have a coffee in one of the many cafes. I will buy a second-hand car or van in the near future sometime. I just need to save up for it!

The villagers are friendly and helpful and there are at least two shops. Although this is not the liveliest village in the world, it is a peaceful place to spend the autumn and winter. There are now 6 English people living in the village including me, so you will find help if needed

There is also a bus into town, but for shopping, it only goes in once a week on Thursdays (market day in Byala) and returns at 12.30 p.m. Otherwise, there is a worker's bus that leaves the village at 06.30 every morning which also goes to Byala, but doesn't return until 17.00. There is also a bus every day from Byala bus station that comes as far as the train station (called Gara Byala) but one then has to hitch-hike back to Bosilkovtsi (about 8-9 kilometres) if one doesn't have a car. I have done it many times and it's no big deal! The locals are willing to give lifts.

The beautiful medieval city of Veliko Tarnovo is a bus/train ride away, as is Ruse, a large and more modern city, very popular with Germans and the English. There are many interesting places to visit in the area: old monasteries, rock churches, waterfalls and much more.

Photos of the house and location have now been uploaded and more are available by request.

I look forward to hearing from you as soon as possible.

Cathy Chadwick

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use