help exchange   Host 15025
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Cluj Napoca
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 15025
Country: Romania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 3, 2017

** Indoor project - ideal for Winter! **

Come help me with my natural hydroponics adventure and stay near the centre of the most vibrant city in Romania: Cluj Napoca.

Hydroponics is a technique for urban food growing that is capturing the imagination of people across the world because of its ability to be used virtually anywhere (no soil required), frugal use of water and space efficiency. Plus, no weeds! :)

Hydroponics (growing plants in water) normally requires artificial fertilisers, but I'm experimenting with a more natural approach, that uses a natural resource that's abundant in our cities: urine. Used properly, it's a safe, odourless and nutrient rich fertiliser.

It's a great idea, but how does it work in reality? Only one way to really find out - get hands on! In the same way, I learned about aquaponics (the same idea but with fish providing the nutrients) a few years ago. With the help of friends and HelpXers we built a 500 litre system in my back garden, for everyone to learn from. The Youtube video below shows how that project started.

Can you help me? If you know about plumbing, building, growing plants or electronics, I'd really appreciate your help. As well as practising your spoken English and discovering Cluj, you'll have a chance to learn about and practice photography, social media and web design. It'll mostly be hands-on, though: finding the right materials, building things and plumbing it all together. Does that sound like fun?

I have a double bed in the lounge available, so you'll have your own space and storage. Let me know which part of the project particularly interests you, and a little about yourself. If you have a CouchSurfing profile, please mention your username. Also let me know your Skype username and/or phone number so we can have a chat. I speak English and French (only).

I anticipate that this project will take at around 2 weeks to complete (4-5hrs per day), so please plan to stay at least that long. (obviously you're free to leave at any time, but it'd be great if you can finish it)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use