help exchange   Host 15093
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Kuldiga
All Year: Spring,Summer,Autumn
Area (ha):
Persons: 1,2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 15093
Country: Latvia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 12, 2016

Sorry - we are hibernating for the winter and will announce when we are reemerging at a later date.


...ever close your eyes,-
ever stop and listen,
ever feel alive-
and you have nothing missing.
YOU DON'T NEED A REASON-
let the day go on and on...
/Enya/

We are absolutely happy and smiley little latvian/english family - Linda and Joel who just enjoy magic of the world and teamwork in everything what we do.. :)
We are in constant move around the world, but time by time we settle down for summer in our little paradise here in Latvia after spending winters in London... :)

We have really amazing experience in hosting (literally hundreds of people through Couchsurfing and less through volunteering) ... we just enjoy hosting the most...
..and what is very important to be great hosts- we have long history (about 6years) of volunteering by ourselves as well.. So that is kind a good combination we would say... :)

..just lost in nature and touched its beauty...
...and ART IS EVERYWHERE...
We can find inspiration in all ways we can....
....In tall grass,
....in small old town with smell of spring or big city with graphical glasses,
....in sound of grasshopper,or in old old yellow newspapers list who can tell us a story...

We really enjoy all what life offers to us...
It could be possibilities, people or just the rainy or shiny weather... :D
we like people a lot... :) and we like to share... :)
Share good moments, time, smiles, picnics and millions of small details what are all around...

..we like to jump high, laugh out loud and to celebrate the Life every day... :)
“What day is it?"
"It's today," squeaked Piglet.
"My favorite day," said Pooh.


ABOUT WORK...
!!!! We are looking for couples or males at the moment only... !!!!!
And please,- no less than 2week stay... :)

There can be some 5 different parts:

1.Gardening and landscape creating:
- We have our garden where we are growing all our vegetables,- so part of the time could be helping in the garden... weeding, planting, seeding etc.
- In the Spring time it would be all about prepering soil, getting ready greenhouse, seeding pots and a lot of different tasks for landscape improving.
- Through all summer there would be a lot of grass cutting (with oldfashioned scythe)
-As we are planning to make a big field into cute/artistical inspiration garden- there is going to be a lot of work to

2. Building/Renovating:
As we are in our country house mostly in summers, there are plenty of small renovations/decorations to do...
Actually every day brings up some new ideas,- so there is really plenty of things going on... :)
Last summer we built our cobwood house and it still needs some plastering work...

3. Canning for winter:
When all vegetables and mushrooms are ready (in August/September)- there is time to put them into yummy home made things. To make some jam, juices, chatneys or pickles... very creative part. :)

4. Plants and Herbs:
Collecting/cutting (into small pieces) and sorting herbs and plants for tea all summertime depending from the right moon phase and the readiness of the plant....

5. Wood preperation for Winter:
-In Spring time there would be proper time for tree chopping in the wood - to prepare logs for the Winter. After that there is time for chopping them smaller and then nicely stack them inside the barn. This is going to be in different stages.

We are very opened for things and work..
..we prefer to do more things at the first half of the day- so the rest of time is nicely free..
- So there would be proper daytime tasks, but a lot of things would be just a daily routine with no properly set time to do them (for an instance: to bring water for house when the buckets are empty, to prepare meals together, to bring wood for house,watering flowers , tidying the house, making sure that countryside is ''prepered for bed-time'' and other daily family tasks.) ...for us volunteering meens being part of family-so it is nice that everyone is just making sure that things are nicely done around all of us.
...we prefer very flexible life style, - so no special rules around us... just common sense and friendly attitude... :)


LANGUAGES SPOKEN:
English/Latvian (native), Russian/Arabic (fluent), French/Italian/Spanish (basic)


ABOUT PLACE:
We have two floor country house in a very silent and beautiful area.
It is located 30 km from Kuldiga- very beautiful historical town. And capital Riga is about 150km away.
We have very good bus connection with local village (5km away) and other towns.

Warning!! :)
No stars like it is for a hotels, - but very friendly and opened attitude towards things and life... :)

There is no shower and hot water inside!!!!!
But washing have never been a problem to anyone.. There is plenty of water around- well, lake, pond, rain water, mornings dew... :)
And from our own expierence volunteering is all about to try new things and open different horizonts. :)

For sure you will be part of our family with amazing vegetarian food from our garden...
...and very, very simple but multicultural lifestyle...

...EVERYTHING IS FOR A REASON.... AND FOR A GOOD REASON....

Welcome to our home.. :)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use