help exchange   Host 15443
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Argyll
All Year: April to October
Area (ha): 322
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 15443
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 8, 2016

We run our own hill farm beside the sea, 6 and a half miles south of Oban. We have about 500 sheep, blackface and cheviots and crosses . We also run a bed and breakfast business.
We have both travelled quite a bit and we can provide a homely and welcoming atmosphere for someone to be part of the family and help on the farm ( marking lambs,shearing ) or with the B&B. We have 3 children who are 29, 27 and 22 who are all away from home these days.
We have a spare bedroom for the helpx people and bathroom.
Good sense of humour a good thing.
We are rural but only 15 minutes drive from Oban, our local town, limited bus service.
Ideally this would suit a couple who enjoy farming life and have some experience of animals, or are willing to learn. 5 hours work a day in exchange for board and keep and two days off per week.. Preferably minimum of 2/3 weeks and up to a month. Manual driving license useful, and if you are over 25 we can possibly put you on our car insurance policy..



We are looking for help Near the end of March 2016 for a few weeks.. And then through the summer months. Please get in touch if you are free then.. We also have a small renovation project we would like to get started with, so any joinery or building skills would be great ! We have found couples work best here as they can keep each other company on their days off.

We are both good cooks and eat a wide variety of cuisines. We like experiencing our Helpxers cooking as well !

The photos below show our hill farm, working sheep in the shed, Jamie and Morag on the quad bike with our dogs, Jamie with Kenny and Camila at the top of a munro and Kenny shearing with Jordi.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use