help exchange   Host 15768
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Landåsbygda
All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 15768
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 16, 2017

My name is Marcus, I am originally from Germany. I came to Norway in 2010 as a helper myself, fell in love with the country and decided to stay. The first five years did I live on my own little farm, then I fell in love with my former host Elin - and now we live together on her farm, with her 19 year old son Thøger and her soon 4 year old son Peder.

The farm is located remotly with no direct neighbours, on the top of a hill, with a nice view over the Landåsvatn-lake on one side and a view all the way to the Hallingdalsfjell and the Jotunheimen-mountains on the other side. Its surrounded by deep forests and bogs and as Elin calls it "a bit closer to heaven" ;)

We keep horses, sheep, rabbits and chicken and grow a big vegetable garden. We try to live selfsufficient and produce most of our food ourselfs. Beside do we both have regular jobs, Elin works for the municipality and I am selfemployed as a forestworker.

We need help mostly during the summer, from May to August. In spring we have allways some fencing to be done, and the season in the vegetable garden starts. Firewood for the next winter has to be cut in the forest and the horses need to be trained for the sommerseason. In the end of summer we use to pick a lot of berries in the forest and help with that is welcome. And then there allways is some carpentry to be done, things need to be repaired and then there is this thousend little things one never finds the time to fix...

We think of 6 hours of work per day on five days a week, but this is something we can play by ear. One day it might be some more hours, one day it might be less. We are trying to offer a variety of jobbs, so everybody can pick what he likes to do and things don't get boring.

You can either stay at my old farm in a house, its a 15 minutes car-ride away from here (or 45 minutes by bicycle - only one steep hill, we provide the bikes) or at Elins place in a tent. Of course you can use the facilities in the house, we just dont have a spare room here.

We are both working and will be gone for some hours every weekday, so you will spent some time of the day alone (or with other helpers) on the farm, but we would like to spent the evenings together with you and have dinner together.

You are welcome to use the canoe, the motorboat and the fishing-gear. If you like to hike you will find a lot of possibilitys around, and there is quite some places to spot birds and moose in the area. If you are safe on horseback you are welcome to ride too. We also use to take our helpers with us when we go for to a fair or similar things.

The next bigger towns are Dokka, Lillehammer, Gjøvik and Fagernes, all more or less 1 hour carride away.

The best way to get here is by bus or train. We can pick you up at the bus-station in Dokka, the trainstation in Gjøvik or the station in Moelv, a stop between Oslo and Lillehammer. The Oslo-Airport is also connected to that line.

Elin speaks norwegian and english, I speak german, english and norwegian, and we'd be happy to hear from you :)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use