help exchange   Host 16360
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Penig
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0,6
Persons: 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16360
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 6, 2017

Description:

Our farm with four buildings and 0.6 ha of land was built 1802. I have bought it in 09/2009. Ever since then, work has never stopped and me and my friends and helpers try to rebuild it the old-fashioned way (lots of clay) and keep all I can.
I have Kamerun sheep (to eat) and Indian runner ducks (for eggs and to eat) and two dogs (for keeping people away by licking them ferociously ;) ).

I am currently also looking for people to join us and build a community here, because the farm needs people! At the moment, I share the house with a friend and usually have one other xhelper or WWOOFer here, too.

I work full time as a materials engineer to get the money in to rebuild the farm.
I do not have a philosophy about life except live and let live and make the best out of what I have.

I have extensive building restoration with wood, clay, plastering, re-pointing and wake up the old farmer's garden again, where I grow veggies, herbs and old style plants. There is always plenty of jobs and projects to do even in winter. I would like to treat you as family and ask you to do the chores as well and work and live with me and my various farm-mates. You should have experience in one (or more) of the following: Machinery repairs, gardening, cooking, woodworking, renovation of old houses, plumbing.

The farm is a four-sided farm (four buildings enclosing a yard) situated on the outskirts of Penig next to the fields. It is nice and quiet without the city buzz but Penig has 1000 inhabitants and everything we need is within walking or driving distance of 5km (furthest). The neighbours are all friendly and often drop in for a beer or two and we generally help each other out.

Where to help / helping time:
Inside the farm: Cooking, household work; clay plastering work, building walls, welding, joinery, making firewood, repair and make doors and windows, paint, build a clay oven, insulation,digging, make floors, lay electric cable, do plumbing, painting, and lots more like harvesting fruit and vegetables and preserving them, making wine, pruning trees, building fences, cutting grass and making hay...
Projects with vehicles: Ongoing Trabant repair.
Projects in my garden: Create beds and paths, build fences, prune and cut trees, make hay, every 3 months: move sheep with fences and cut their hooves. Build a sauna.

Expected helping time: 6 hrs/day,6 days/week.
We like to take people on board for at least two weeks and longer, if it works out for everyone.
If you are interested in staying and helping, please mention the code 'Erbsensuppe mit Speck' in your email!
Will not cater for vegans. Vegetarians ok as long as you are not picky about the food. We usually eat lots of salad and veg from our garden so you will not starve. We expect you to work by yourselves as independently as possible. We obviously show you things but do not want to have to supervise you all the time.
Smoking outside; smokers welcome!

Lodging: medium size single room with french bed, double bunk bedroom, camping

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use