help exchange   Host 16838
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Co Galway
All Year: no
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 16838
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 12, 2015

Jobs are nearing completions so no more help required for June/July

Spring 2015 approaches and we need help converting the Barn, Gardening and general maintenance jobs, 6 or so hours per day 5 days/week for good home grown/cooked food + accommodation for 2-3 + weeks between now -July 2014. Experience not essential but some practical skills and muscle would be useful?

We have Small small-holding with chickens, a very productive fruit/veg garden, greenhouses, a poly-tunnel and orchard on homestay with family with young child (6) and molly the dog (both friendly). We live in a beautiful renovated 150 year old cottage close to Athenry (Heritage Town) and a convenient 10 miles from Galway City (regular buses).

We have always been fairly flexible and having been a woofer myself. We have had back-packers staying with us from all over the world over the years and they have always left us with a positive and genuine experience of Ireland. Our location makes a excellent base for exploring the West!

A little Background...

We bought our cottage in 2002 in a barely habitable state and have spent the last 10 years extending and renovating it. We estimate the main cottage to have been built in the 1880's but parts (including the barn) are a good deal older. It is a typical west of Ireland stone long cottage with a high ceiling living room in the middle and rooms either side leading off it with attic above. There's a huge ingle-nook fireplace build in carved stone as pictured. At the front of the property there is a partially renovated barn which was originally a cottage circa 1800. We are fairly comfortable now but would appreciate the help with a few improvements.

Our volunteers have a self-contained caravan to sleep in with power & lighting and use of the bathroom and internet in the main house.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use