help exchange   Host 16870
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Dunedin
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1 acre
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 16870
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 3, 2017

We need helpers for a week, from the 20th of October to help redecorate a room - and give us a hand in the garden - projects weather dependant.

We have 1 acre of steep land that we are developing into a permaculture garden and orchard.
At the moment we are terracing the large part of the section with brick walls and steps built with whatever recycled materials come to hand - a very long term project which needs constant help from our wonderful helpers.
We are also developing a fernery and planting out native hedges - so there are fantails and keruru in abundance. Though the development is hard work, it's creative and fun. We are getting there but we could do with a bit of help from strong fit people whose knees can handle walking up and down a steep garden - often with a sack of something heavy over their shoulders.
We also have work repairing and painting garden furniture and deck etc.
And if there is anyone out there who can use an old fashioned grass scythe they will be very welcome end of January/ February for a bit of mowing.

We have no car but there are lots of great walks around the area, and buses to town are regular.
There are plenty of places to explore in gorgeous Dunedin and its environs.
St. Clair is a beautiful surf beach - there are always surfers in the sea from dawn till dusk - all weathers and seasons.
Just walking on the beach is wonderfully relaxing.
Also within easy walking distance is wonderful Tunnel Beach.
The city is a 10 minute bus ride away.

We don't have internet available for helpers but there is a free internet service at the library in town.

We ask for approximately 20 hours work per week (4 hours per day for 5 days - two days free) - sometimes less if the work is a bit harder - in return for comfortable accommodation and good semi vegetarian food - we have meat about 3 times a week but we don't mind making solely veg meals if required.

We DON'T take smokers sorry. Also I have to add that we prefer people who love gardens and nature - Our place is not really a drinking, partying sort of place.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use