help exchange   Host 17035
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Teglio
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0,9
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 17035
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 15, 2017


--- IMPORTANT NOTE: What we ask all our possible future helpers is to be very honest with themself about this question: "can I manage to spend the whole day alone with 11 large dogs who, at least for the first days, do not know me?". They usually are very friendly, but they are dogs, and sometime could not be in perfect feeling with someone: if you're not prepared to deal with this, things can get really hard. ---


We are a couple, Marisa and Paolo (both 56 years old), who love Bernese Mountain dogs: we live in a small house in Valtellina (province of Sondrio), into the nature, with 10 of them (well, they are 11 now). We also own about 6000 square meters of vineyard (not organic but we follow the Integrated Pests Management rules), and with a couple of friends make wine with ours grapes under the brand "Le Strie".
I, Paolo, live here all year round (usually during the week I work outside home from 8.00 am to 6.00 pm), Marisa from Monday to Friday works near Milan and joins us during the weekend.
We need help in the manage of the vineyard all year round (so Marisa can have more time for the dogs), and for all the work that the property needs to be better (gardening, cutting trees, chopping fire woods, build little stone walls, following the vegetables garden and so on . . .); we also could need some help in cleaning the house. We usually don't ask Helpers to feed ours cats and dogs, but sometimes we have to move from home for different reasons (our jobs, dog shows, etc.): in this case we could ask you to take care of them for one or two days.
Work time is about 25 hours a week: most of the work is carried out from Friday to Sunday, when we both are at home. The remaining hours may be distributed during the week or, if you prefer, be grouped in one or two days to get the others free. Anyway the timetable is very flexible (also according to the meterological conditions) and we'll talk about it.
We'll offer:
- home made cooking traditional italian food (usually breakfast and dinner, lunch should be self-arranged with what you find in the refrigerator or in the pantry), with a glass (ok, you can have also a second one!) of good wine;
- accomodation in our house in a room with your private bathroom (if you help us to finish it, ahahahaha);
- free use of all our house equipments (washing machine, WiFi internet, television, etc.).
In your free time there is plenty of possibilities to make beautiful walks in the mountain (we live in the vicinity of the regional park of the Orobics Alps and 45 minutes away from the Stelvio National Park). I'm a maniac fisher, so if you like fishing for trouts and graylings I can help you to obtain the fishing licence, lend you a rod and we can go to the rivers or a lake together.
In winter you'll have the opportunity to go skiing to Aprica (20 minutes away by car) or Bormio (40 minutes away).

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use