help exchange   Host 17184
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Lazio
All Year: All year
Area (ha): 1.3
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 17184
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 5, 2017

50 km north east of Rome, with frequent train service to and from Rome and Fiumicino airport to the closest station (Fara Sabina). We live in the village, there's a guest bedroom with its own terrace upstairs and a sofa bed downstairs sharing a room with a grand piano, harpsichord and other musical equipment. Below the house is a garden,where we try to grow as much of our food as possible, and we supplement with wild food, friends organic produce and the shops.
There are about 180 olives, some fruit and nut trees, another veg. garden, bees and herbs up on the mountain outside the village on a 1.2 ha steeply sloping site, where most help is needed - clearing brush,(hugelkultur) terracing, collecting/cutting/splitting firewood, pruning, hedging, harvesting the olives, some building projects (ponds,repairing a stable and greenhouse) and planting/collecting medicinal herbs and food plants.Plan to plant more drought resistant crops, diversifying in the olive grove with the intention of creating a food forest.
We try to work 5 or 6 hours a day, 5 or 6 days a week, but aren't very successful. No previous experience necessary, just willingness to help/learn/teach in the olive grove and the gardens.
I play in a large street band based in Rome (Titubanda), so there's the chance of trips to gigs/demonstrations in Rome and further afield, but there's also plenty to see close at hand, like the biggest olive tree in Europe (and some say maybe the world...), lots of baroque,renaissance, medieval and Roman/pre-roman stuff, mountains, rivers, woods...
LGBTQ welcome

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use