help exchange   Host 17210
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Gabrovo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 - 2 sharing
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17210
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 29, 2018

We are a small family needing help in our new settlement in a Bulgarian mountain home. We have a 9 year old boy, 4 horses, a herd of milking goats, 3 dogs and 5 cats, and 2 pet rabbits.....- so far! We plan to raise chickens and a pig, but have to yet prepare the barns. We have more projects than we can handle, and just the day-to-day chores seem to bog us down sometimes. Most of all I would like to have someone who has experience with horses, riding and training, as 3 of my 4 horses are ready to be brought into regular exercise - I would love it if you wanted to do horse activities with me, every day if possible! 3 of my horses have known abuse in their past, and have overcome most of that damage, but still there are shadows lurking sometimes, and so it is important to me that to be with them you are calm, and open and empathetic, showing them guidance not dominance.
My husband is in charge of the goat enterprise, and he needs help improving the goat shed facilities, and also with milking/grazing/ and even making cheese and other products if you are interested. We need help with renovations and decoration in our house, fence building and repairs in our barns, maintaining the land and animals, and seasonally fruit picking in our orchard and then preserving the harvest!
There are literally a million things to do, from dawn to dusk, so we love dynamic folk, but that's not to say we are workaholics - no, not at all, we also need chill out time, quiet and calm time to reflevct, and relish reading and art activities, meditation, and relaxing chats over wine! Also you would be helping with general domestic duties, art and craft activities, and playing with our son. All sorts really! We would love to have a longer-term volunteer or pair travelling together - own children, and own pets welcome too! . And most of all I would like to have someone who wants to stay for ages, like 6 months or more, to really become part of our unit here, if our way of life suits you, and we all get on well. (And you can enjoy the full range of seasons here!) That would be awesome! To live alongside us as friends, to help - sure - but also to delight in the dogs playing in the snow, the joy of this beautiful nature right outside our door, the experience of building relationships with horses, and the sharing of life's wonderful journey! We would like people who are ready to join in with whatever is needed and is going on at the time, and we will invite you to join us in any social outings or trips to town that we take. We have internet access if you have your laptop. We are flexible to helpers needs. We need enthusiastic and inspired people with skills to share in return for time in our lovely area. Artistic and creative folk appeal to us for sharing their inspirations, especially nature art and community art. We have beautiful countryside to explore, forests, waterfalls, mountain views, nearby lakes for swimming and fishing, as well as nearby Gabrovo for cultural visits, history, shopping, and nightlife.
*****************************************************
My husband has a condition which sometimes keeps him in bed for days. These days are a struggle for me, both in terms of the workload, and in terms of needing someone just there helping me to smile.
***********************************************
We have an old caboose in the orchard, which would make an amazing little accommodation unit - with your input! I plan to let volunteers use it as their own space and we can funk it up at the same time.
Currently it is very basic, (and not at all funky!) any funky and exciting input with this would be happily received. You will of course be welcome to join us in our family home as well.
***********************************************
I guess what I most need is someone happy to do 2 or 3 hours a day with horses and a couple of hours a day with all sorts of other tasks, and then hanging out together building friendship ?? For a long term helper our first main project will be making the caboose fabulous!
*********************************************
If what I have described appeals to you then please drop me a line with any questions, and tell me what you would dream of for your time in Bulgaria!
Thanks for reading this far,
and Happy travels to you!
Dee x

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use