help exchange   Host 17374
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Millom
All Year: March-October from 2017
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17374
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 4, 2017

We are a 65-something yr old couple who live with a cat, 2 dogs and a pig in a beautiful Old Rectory built in 1839 in the Lake District of England. We have 3 poly tunnels in a 1.5 hectare paddock and a half acre garden/veg plot in a rural village. We are in the process of organizing the vegetable and fruit production on mainly organic lines, with rearing rare breed pigs,and would like to offer board and food in exchange for some help with basic gardening and household tasks.
We have recently planted 20,000 deciduous trees in the 100 Ha of fellside we own and manage called Gibson's Spout ( see photo of waterfall); and in due course the swimming area in the river could do with some work to make access easier.
We can offer accommodation for two people. The accommodation is a large room on the upper story of a converted barn with two beds, tables and chairs. The main house is where Joan and I live, and you are invited to share our breakfasts and evening meals with us and our Airbnb guests.You will use the bathroom and kitchen in the main house. There is wifi and freeview TV in the main house.
We ask for 25 hours work a week split however you would like. Tasks will include weeding, clearing brambles, digging the garden over, and some domestic tasks in the house. Seasonally we harvest and make preserves. Jobs are varied and are always negotiable if you aren't enjoying the work. There is the possibility of bonfires in the autumn and winter nights, which is very fun. Workers have to be willing, and not afraid of the rain or dirt. We can provide waterproofs, and potentially work shoes (depending on your size). We are looking for people for a week or longer.
Food wise, we eat a varied diet with the majority of it being home grown . Vegetarians are welcome. You can help yourself to the contents of the fridge and cupboards for breakfast and lunch, and you are welcome to make hot drinks or snacks throughout the day. The evening meal will be communal, and you are welcome to cook for us if you feel the inclination.
We have plenty of DVDs and books in the event of rainy days off. Local mobile coverage can be limited, but O2 is fine.
Locally, we are 4 miles from the beach, 2 miles from the train station, and 2 miles from our waterfall which you can swim in if you can brave the cold. The nearest small town (Millom) is 9 miles away with supermarkets, restaurants etc. Within the village itself we have a small shop and a cafe. We have bikes that you are welcome to borrow to explore the local area.
On your days off you can go and explore the beautiful lakes and local fells. We can advise you on walking routes or nearby places of interest and have maps which you are welcome to borrow.
Smokers are asked to smoke outside and look after their cigarette butts.
On arrival, we can organise collection from the local station. We are on the Cumbrian coastal line which runs from Lancaster to Carlisle with connections at each place to the West Coast Main Line.

We are recommencing taking HelpXers after a break taken to organise the accommodation for the Airbnb business, and would welcome help from March 2017.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use