help exchange   Host 17676
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Katikati
All Year:
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 17676
Region: Bay of Plenty

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 17, 2017

Hi. We are Chris and Jess, a 30 year old couple. We have a passion for music. Chris is in a few bands and Jess organizes them. We moved up north from Dunedin to run the family hydroponic lettuce and herb farm situated in Katikati, 30mins north of Tauranga. We are super keen to meet and hang out with travelers who are willing to experience the kiwi-lifestyle and help us out with a few hours work on the property per day in exchange for full board. We often enjoy having a thermal spa at the end of a hard days work. We're close to Waihi Beach, Tauranga and Mt Maunganui and go to the Farmers' Markets in those places every weekend.

Chris' parents, Debbie and Malcolm come up most weekends to help out and run the place when we are away at gigs or concerts. We are headed to Vietnam for a holiday and require some help for Debbie who will be running the farm in our absence.

We have a spare room which can accommodate 1 person or a couple. We are requiring help from someone for at least 2 weeks. Own transport is helpful.

Please send us a description of yourself and experience so far.
We are looking for enthusiastic people who aren't afraid of a little hard work. There will be at least 4 hours of varied chores most days, including sowing plants, planting out, weeding, cleaning, picking and packing produce for the market and also selling at the Farmers' Markets. In the summer we start early because it gets too hot in the middle of the day. We also pick late if it's really hot. Winter time is a bit more relaxed. You can have time off to go exploring. If you are interested in that and throwing the ball or sticks for Boston, our 5 year old labmation dog to retrieve in return for accommodation and food, get in touch. We have 4 free range hens, so we have fresh eggs. There's always fresh herbs, avocados, capsicums, chilies, zucchinis, pumpkins, beans, herbs and salads to eat, depending on the season.
We have two new members of the family- two kittens- Courgette and Winston.

It's great if you are able to commit to staying for a couple of weeks. Each day there are different tasks and if you stay less than this, we just teach you the ropes and you are off.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use