help exchange   Host 17779
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Merrickville
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17779
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 6, 2015

We haven't updated this for some time but now it is almost end October and can definitely use some help from anyone with carpentry/building skills. We are in the process of building a barn and anyone interested in lending a hand would be welcome.

Funny to read that paragraph above and realize that still more than 6 months later we are still in the process of building the barn (it was a hard winter) and are very interested in hearing from any of you who are interested in helping on a project like this. We also need to plant now and get things ready for summer. Would be very interested in hearing from you.

We now have the entire skeleton of the barn up and ready to go (i.e. get finished) - we will be getting the roof on in a week or so and will definitely need help for getting up the siding and fishing the workshop inside. Meanwhile we have begun to plant the garden and deal with the garlic. The vines really took a beating this winter so we only have our fingers crossed - lets see how the summer goes this year

and again - the roof is now on and we need help with the siding - AND the grass cutting and garden work - looking forward to hearing from anyone in the area interested in coming to help

******

We live on a 100 acre farm in an old stone house just outside of the beautiful town of Merrickville, Ontario. Merrickville is on the historic rideau canal system and boasts shops, restaurants and pubs. We are less than an hour from Ottawa and go back and forth frequently and are more than willing to take you in to see the city or to pick you up from a bus or train station either in Ottawa or Brockville. We also have bikes so you can ride into Merrickville on your own for shopping or a visit to a pub. Our house is an 1840 original canal builders stone cottage with an addition which is newly renovated (a process that goes on forever). We have a fledgeling vineyard and vegetable gardens, a maple forest in the back and hayfields around. We have lived in the area for more than ten years and have four children long grown and on their own. We have a new puppy now about 8months old - our old dog mentioned in our earlier text has now died and we took a while to even think of a replacement. We have avoided having other animals since we like to get away from time to time. We need tons of help with clearing around the house; cutting trails, preparing gardens for the winter and summer; We offer you your separate room with bathroom and sitting area; wifi and television and shared meals - we have been hosting people for more than two years and have enjoyed the help and company from Europe, Asia, Australia, Israel and North America. Everyone has pitched in with cooking and general upkeep. We prefer longer stays over two weeks when possible. We speak english, french and spanish with a bit of portuguese. This is our third or fourth year with Helpx and we are happy to say that we have been very pleased with the people that have come to us through this program - on our side we welcome anyone from any country, we are more than willing to drive you to Ottawa to take a break from country living, we offer good accommodation and in exchange we hope for help around the outside with gardens, vineyard, trails and forest and any building or renovation inside and oh we do love it when you cook - as we keep saying - we are most happy with anyone who feels he/she has some competency in carpentry or building or is more than ready to ti

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use