help exchange   Host 17782
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Sunshine Coast
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Average house block
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17782
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 17, 2016

THERE ARE NO VACANCIES UNTIL FUTURE UPDATE LATER IN 2016 as I currently have a permanent Helpx guest living and helping out at my house and studying at college.

Accommodation only (no meals provided) in a comfortable, clean house shared with your host and other guests. Just 3minutes walk to the beach & close to the shopping centre. Cool down in the pool or spend your afternoons at the beach after working an easy 2 hrs each day (Sunday free).

Work details: pool maintenance, grass/lawn care, trim trees & palms, gardening, general housework/cleaning, vacuum/wash cars, tidy/sweep outdoor areas. People who can follow instructions and work independently are preferred.

My house is situated close to Kawana shopping centre in a quiet suburban street, 2 or 3 minutes walk from Buddina beach and 20 minutes walk from the mouth of Mooloolah river. Buddina is 5klm from popular MOOLOOLABA BEACH on the Sunshine Coast and just 100klm north of Brisbane.

I have previously travelled extensively throughout Europe, speak English fluently, German reasonably and enjoy the company and stories of other travellers willing to work 2 hours per day in exchange for accommodation only. Meals are not provided but cooking facilities are available. I'm also happy to have someone who enjoys cooking and would like to occasionally cook a meal for me (as part of their 2hrs work) sharing food costs of course.

Wi-fi internet (unlimited but no movie downloads)available if you have your own computer/notebook/ipad for emails, Facebook, Skype chat (brief video) and Google.

NOTE: With increased electricity, water and internet costs and the provision of some cooking extras that many guests require but forget to purchase, and because I often don't need you to work a full 2hrs per day, I now charge $2 per night per person, PAYABLE ON ARRIVAL PLEASE. I also host paying guests via another website but I do not have a farm, operate a private business or make money from hosting helpxers so I appreciate your small contribution towards monthly house expenses.

Helpx guests share the workload in keeping my house, pool, gardens and cars clean and tidy, and assist with other small jobs when necessary. I usually expect the work to be done 9-11am or 10am-12 depending on whether I have paying guests leaving but on occasions you may work longer one day to have the following day free in order to see places further away (Noosa, Maleny, Brisbane, Australia Zoo etc.).

Most guests stay one week depending on availability and compatibility but it is sometimes possible to extend your stay. If you are lucky enough to find a vacancy, I guarantee you an enjoyable and memorable holiday.

One guest room has a double bed, bedside table with lamp, fan, dressing table, bookcase/shelves with numerous books & travel brochures for my guests to read. The second guest room has a queen bed, bedside table & lamp, fan, 2 seater lounge/sofa, shelves & display cabinet. Both rooms have windows with plenty of light and are always kept clean and tidy.

At the moment the weather is mostly fabulous with temperatures in the mid 20's to low 30's daytime and 15-20 degrees overnight. Occasionally we have late afternoon or evening thunderstorms.

Buddina beach and residential area is mainly frequented by locals if you want to escape the tourist areas for a while during your travels throughout Australia. Buddina Beach is a natural, unspoilt beach located between two lifesaver patrolled beaches, Mooloolaba Beach (5klm north) and Kawana Beach (500 mtrs south). It boasts breathtaking ocean views, beachside and riverside bbq's, easy walking beach paths and public exercise machines which are all free added bonuses provided by our local council.

I have two old bicycles, two (small) old surfboards, one boogie board and numerous board games and old videos/DVDs for my guests' use.

Unfortunately Moggie, my 17 yr old cat shown in my photos, died before Christmas 2015 and I am not yet ready to replace her.

If you want a short break from your travels and you don't mind working a little in order to see this stunning area with pristine beaches, email through helpx.net and don't forget to include dates required (usually 1 week stays).

On receipt of a request for accommodation I usually try to reply within a few days. Please return the favour by responding to my reply as soon as possible after reading it so I can either confirm your booking or offer the room to another guest if you decide not to stay.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use