help exchange   Host 18296
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.3
Persons: 1 0r 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 18296
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 19, 2016

Hi Help Xers....
I live in Chewton ( near the funky and creative town of Castlemaine )

If you come to stay, you would my a cottage to yourself, as I live around 10 kms away in the bush. I would get you to help me do chores at the cottage, my place in the bush, or evening mum's in Melbourne. The timetable would be to your choosing.

Currently I have a variety of help x chores you could help with, some requiring muscle, some not I have very heavy plasterboard I need to put into place, painting, gardening, cleaning and yard work, fencing, and at the moment I need someone who can tinker with cars (carburettor). You wouldn't have to do all of these, just the tasks you feel suitable for. Male, female or couple is fine, but at least one of you needs to be reasonably strong. Other than the plasterboard-moving, the other little jobs don't require muscle at all.(fencing might need muscle, or at least, perseverance).

Please read my fussy profile and if you think we'd be a good match, feel free to contact me. ** N.B./ achtung: If English is your second language, please get this TRANSLATED BEFORE you contact me, so that you REALLY understand my desires/needs from for help x.
It is possible for me to pick you up from Melbourne airport potentially. The place in. Chewton is 5kms from the castlemaine train, so you would get the use of bikes. (If u can fix my r, you can use it while you stay).

About Me:

I am a 38 year old woman and a traveller myself. I know what it's like to start in a new country and look for work, etc. Australia is not an easy place to find a job, even for Australians!


At the moment I am in urgent need of
_muscly person to help me move plasterboard/heavy wall lining, into it's new place.

Gardening skills/yard clean up/ weed removal - (a bit of 'grunt work'--digging and removing junk and overgrowth.....the yard is an absolute mess. We've just been renovating so there's stuff everywhere!

-a bit of painting, gap-filling cracks etc

-someone with CARPENTRY skills or someone who knows how to use a drill would be great too. You could help me build a shed out or recycled materials.
Id be quite happy to have someone on a short stay..I could pick yo u up at the airport, get you started in the city of Melbourne, familiar with how it works for a few days, then you could move on or come to my place in the country which is still only a 1.5 hr train ride to Melbourne (very close by Australian standards: it is quite normal for people to travel 3 hours a day for work).

The bathroom is out the back. it is a bit of a 'building site' at the moment- a bit messy.

If the first week or two worked out, then after that there would be an opportunity for you to come and stay at my cottage in the country- the town of Chewton (where I usually live.)Again, the bus would be your bedroom there too. (it's cosy, rest assured).
But you could stay in my Bus at the country place, 1.5 hours from Melbourne and an easy train ride.

the house is a tiny, cute but run-down cottage , near the country town of Castlemaine, (the place is called Chewton) Check out http://www.travelvictoria.com.au/castlemaine/maps/

It's a gorgeous, artistic town with good pubs, food, and historical value.( an old gold-mining town). It's a bit over an hour from Melbourne, and an easy commute on the VLINE train (1hour 45 mins). (I think the train ticket costs sometimes under $10 to come into Melbourne, if not at peak times, and can be even cheaper with the right concession card). the train station is 6kms away and I could give you a bike for you so that you can get around. (It's ok to take bikes on the train from Melbourne).



People commute daily to Melbourne for work from Castlemaine, so though it is 1.5 hours to Melbourne, it is pretty easy on the VLine train.

expectations:
I follow the Help X recommended of 2 hours of work a day, (for EACH person staying) in exchange for accomodation ONLY, and you take care of your own food and meals.
Currently because of my urgent need of someone with handy skills and mechanical skills.

I'm pretty slack with cooking and I generally eat a vegan and gluten free diet, so not many people are interested in what I eat anyway!. (ex vegan myself, but sometimes i eat kangaroo these days).

So you'd feed yourelf but I could possibly take you on a few walks (if I have time), or maybe give you information on the history of the Victorian Goldfields or what's good to see and do.


IF you stayed longer (ONLY after clear negotiation and request --not to be assumed or sprung on me with some desperate request on the last day because you have nowhere to go. People have done this to me before.)

Only IF we discuss the potential for you stay longer, there may be on other tasks that you could take on.
There's also plenty of little jobs to do there, such as painting, paint-stripping. The house itself is very basic, not that nice, but the town of Chewton a beautiful spot.
*
I have two bikes you can borrow at Chewton and it is ok to take them on the train here.


I have been a bit unwell over the last year and have not had the energy to keep on top of things domestically, so that is why the helpX service is great. It seems to work well for both parties.


One more thing--It's also important that you like dogs. I have one excellent and boisterous dog, a Pointer called Georgie. She is very important to me.

I can offer you a lot of information about this stuff and provide you with maps, directions etc.

I am a very friendly and social person and love meeting new people, but i do also like my privacy in my home environment. that's why
I initially offer stays of ONLY 1 week. Another week MAY be be negotiated AFTER I know you better, but this is NOT guaranteed. (Had a bad experience with a help X helper who didn't respect my need for space, didnt really want to leave and didn't seem to put in enough effort to find somewhere else. So now I am very clear about this.)

I assume you that will always be actively searching for have your next Help x destination and have it organised BEFORE your departure date, and that you will be leaving after a week unless we have explicitly negotiated. I don't want to a situation arise where you feel you have not been given enough notice when it is time to leave.



A few things I should mention about my preferences/ quirks.
If you smoke, that's ok but please just keep it outside. and for the sake of pleasant dinner conversation, if your politically views are right-wing/ conservative, or if you do not care about the environment, perhaps don't apply here.That said, I am usually a personable kind of girl, as long as I don't feel my space encroached upon.

So as well as liking my personal and physical space, (no sleazebags!) I encourage you to spend a lot of your day out and about, discovering Chewton and Castlemaine. If it's suitable , I might even be able to lend my car out occasionally. I'm not really into people just hanging around the house all day, every day. I only mention these things here to avoid awkward situations.

Also if you have a fairly negative attitude, or you are on the run from some drama, I'm sorry but i don't want to be around that. I'm trying to stay positive in this life! I've had two different help x-ers who complained a lot about how hard/expensive/ Australia is and how they couldn't get a job, broke up with their partner etc. I'm not a shrink, and would like to surround myself with only positive and happy people.

Overseas travellers should be aware:
There is a lot of unemployment and red-tape here in Australia, and even my very skilled and educated Australian friends have difficulty finding work, so I don't really want to be a counselling service for how tough life is (within reason!), or how long it's taking you to get a job. Assume that finding work here in Australia will be extremely difficult. Anyone who tells you differently is not being truthful, in my opinion.

Of course I understand things can be difficult occasionally, and I will offer my support if i can, but I also believe people make choices, and coming all the way out to Australia means people need to have a back up plan if things dont work out for them. It is not the golden land that perhaps it once was.

If you 've stuck with me this far!!...Forgive me being so particular, but I have had few help x helpers stay by now, and I know what situations work best for me. That said, overall I have met some fantastic people through helpx who stayed a month or more because the situation worked so well for us both. i can offer a great wealth of info, a country pad to stay in, good conversation and information. I'm also flexible with how and when you choose to do your helping hours.

If you can handle all that, gimme a call!
Thanks and have great travels.

NB. I don't check my emails that often so it's good to send me a text as well if you can.
I DO NOT answer private numbers, ever.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use