help exchange   Host 19409
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Brookton
All Year: All year round
Area (ha): 2428.
Persons: 2 M/F married pref
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 19409
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 13, 2017

Please read our full profile: help is required from the end of April 2018 to the end of July 2018, we appreciate knowing you received our contact - thanks.
We are looking for helpers to care for our "menagerie" (Generally if you can only come for a few weeks that will help but we do need help all year round and would like sitters for 1 to 3 months, if possible).
This is a volunteering position.
I do not cook for you but I do help financially toward the cost of your groceries. ($65.00 per week, per person.)
I can meet the bus in Brookton if you don't have a car but your own vehicle/transport is essential if you would like to go “sight-seeing” on your days off. You get time out for a break, medical, dental appointments etc., so long as
we are not all away at the same time.
Accommodation is a fully equipped granny flat with bathroom and toilet, a new
fridge and stove, R.C. Air Con and a washing machine. about 100 metres from the main house
- a van can be pulled alongside.
The menagerie consists of: 4 caged rescue birds, various poultry, 2 dogs, 1 cat, 1 kangaroo. Once in the swing of it, this takes about an hour morning and night.
We live 120 mile east of Perth on a wheat and sheep farm which borders the Yenyenning
Lakes system. We are 20 mile from Brookton - as for fruit and veggies, there is an IGA
store, a butcher and a deli in town. I go to town once a week and can get an order for
you or you can come with me - I volunteer at the local school and am usually away for
around 4 hours.
We have a bountiful Lemon tree, some home grown Silver beet, Rhubarb and
Celery , parsley, lettuce - Chives - sweet potatoes and a variety of herbs, preparing beds now for summer
vegies, melons etc., I am always adding to this to increase the amount and variety of
plants grown.
There are several interesting "touristy" spots to visit, such as: Wave Rock, about 2 and
half hours East of us and on the way there, just before the town of Corrigin, is the
"Dog Cemetery", a rather unique idea for people to put their precious pets to rest and
quite popular. There used to be an Emu and an Alpaca farm people could visit, in that
are too, but I am not sure if it is still open to the public. Pingelly, about a 40 minute drive
South of, us has an observatory for gazing at the stars.
Dryandra is between Pingelly and Narrogin and has a native animal refuge and breeding
programme going.
York is an historic town ship, one of the first settled out of the Perth area in
the early days - it has a motor museum and special market days - lots of
very old buildings.
Northam (to the North of us) and Narrogin to the South are both just over an
hour drive and are much bigger centres.
About a half hour North of our farm is County Peak from which you can have
a 360 degree view of the surrounding farm lands and lakes - very pretty. We
also have a small lake on our property stocked with bream - nice eating!!!
A You-tube video has been made by one of our past helpers: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ZRuy2ma308
Please read our full profile and we appreciate knowing you received our contact - thanks.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use