help exchange   Host 19853
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Guanaba
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5.67
Persons: Single or couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 19853
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 7, 2016

We seek medium to long stay helpers, minimum 2 weeks at least OK. We've been WWOOF & HELPX hosts for a long time (since 1998) and had some delightful visitors, from many countries, who have returned many times during the years.
We have a beautiful 14ac property in the hinterland of the Gold Coast, on the ocean side of Mt Tamborine. There are horses which you may like to feed and brush, peacocks and gardens. We don't have dogs so we have abundant wildlife who gather here daily. We were bio-dynamic certified for 8 years but we had a terrible drought a few years back and didn't continue the certification.
There is so much to do on a farm, we have lots of projects on the go at the moment, from building stone gateways to putting up sheds, gardening, property maintenance, animal care, housework, window cleaning, mowing, whatever we are doing at the time.
Ideally our day usually runs like this: 7am Breakfast, work 7.30am, Smoko 10am, work 10.30, Lunch 1pm, work 2pm, finish 3pm, usually about 5 - 6 hrs. Saturdays & Sundays are days off. In saying that everything here is pretty laid back, you'll be helping a farming couple in their 50's potting around doing interesting projects & everyday farm stuff, you'll become part of our family while you are here. We are the opposite of the slave-driving factory farms. Accommodation at present is in a lovely clean caravan with a nice view (which you will keep clean and leave clean).
Sorry we cannot cater for vegetarians or vegans.
We supply 3 good meals a day plus morning tea, we eat together around a table. We ourselves are gluten free people due to a food allergy, so sometimes our food is modified for that reason & slightly different to yours.
No smokers please.
You can access internet through our router with your own device.
You may also like to bring: snack foods/favorite foods/extra food & your own alcohol
There is lots to do on the Gold Coast at weekends and many of you have friends staying at backpackers so we don't mind you going off for the whole weekend, (leave Friday or Saturday morning, we're about 30 - 40 mins to the beach) we can pick you up again on Mondays. Or you are welcome to spend your weekends here, sometimes we go sightseeing or shopping & we are happy to take you along.
We will need to see your ID when you arrive and take a photo of it.
We don't usually book you in advance because over the years we've had so many travelers change their plans and not turn up. Contact us if you are on the Gold Coast or in Brisbane or coming this way.
Unfortunately we are not in the right postcode for 2nd holiday visa.
Thanks for your wonderful experiences over the years
and safe travelling to you all .

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use