help exchange   Host 20066
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Brisbane
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .08
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20066
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 7, 2017

Hello. at the moment I'm looking for a Helper who can do a few manual outdoor tasks (probably suit a guy) and some household chores including cooking.

I've been hosting for a while now and have met many lovely people from overseas and locals. Now, I'm only taking Helpers in from time to time to do things such as maintenance and other fairly repetitive tasks like preparing produce, lawn-mowing and spring cleaning. This is because most Helpers are fairly short-term. However, if you are local and interested in growing food and living sustainably in a like-minded household, contact me about long term part rental arrangements.

Accommodation is comfortable and you will have your own room upstairs (pictured). You'll share the upstairs bathroom with another householder and the kitchen with two of us. There are 2 other householders downstairs sharing separate facilities, but we all share the living/dining room and decks outside.

I have a separate living area, but will regard you as part of the household and will usually combine meals & outings around the city and allow you a chance to do some sightseeing. I'm sociable, but like my alone time, too, as I'm sure you do. I am usually only looking for one HelpXer at a time for our guest room because I usually have 3 other long term housemates already here. We're a gay-friendly home.

Things are kept in order; this just makes it easier for newcomers to find things & put them back. "Keep things together", "Put things back" & "Make things accessible" are our 3 golden rules.
This is an urban city-farm that is intensively cultivated, 10 klms south of the CBD; walking and cycling distance from major retailers and convenient transport. I am currently a single, professional community worker advocating sustainability. I have been teaching English since 1988. I have travelled and lived abroad. I built this replica Queenslander in 2011 with all the sustainable features re power and water, etc.. I'm committed to doing something positive about preventing our species from extinguishing itself this century, which I believe it is on a path towards. While I do what I can to extract myself from the debt-based money system as much as possible, I reject the mentality of poverty and scarcity, maintaining a high quality of life; the food, accommodation and company here is GOOD! (:>)

The garden is well established now; mainly fruit trees, veges, herbs, nuts and chickens. I'm committed to organic permaculture and am still learning. Work is 5~6 hours p/day with two days p/week off... I provide some meals, and for those meals you arrange yourself, time can be deducted from work hours. I try to eat mainly veges, but they're high preparation food so we often shop, cook and eat together or share meals as a household. Eating out or takeaway, I pay the first $5, you make up the rest). If you cook lunch or dinner from the pantry, take half an hour off work (1 hour if it's your food or if you're preparing for me & others in the house as well). Breakfast is usually simple, sometimes together, sometimes DIY.

I don't police people... it's an honesty system here and I don't expect you to work overtime, but if you do, I'll usually notice and appreciate it.

Note, I'm not in the right post code zone to help with 2nd Working Holiday Visas, sorry; you have to get out into the countryside for that. Please check the post codes listed on the Immigration Department's website. http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/postcodes.htm

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use