help exchange   Host 20632
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Hanmer
All Year: ASAP NOW!!! Yes
Area (ha): 23.47227842978551 (58 Acr
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20632
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 4, 2014

Accepting Volunteers NOW!!! MINIMUM 2 WEEK STAY. March - December. NON-SMOKERS are welcomed to 58 acres of non certified, organic, neglected land. Just past my third year here. I've Big Dreams and not enough time in my day. I'm a new, young farmer who needs a lot of help. If you don't mind roughing it (The place is a mess indoors and out as I'm renovating/moving in/cleaning up and dealing with disasters (Flooded basement/colapsed barn -you have a bedroom and shared bathroom, I can put a roof over your head, provide a comfy bed (or a soft floor), (I've new indoor plumbing), and some food in your tummy, (or you can grow your own!) The house is cool in winter so please bring slippers and appropriate atire to be outside in winter. The temperatures are around -20/-50 here usually outdoors. There's internet access for e-mail/skype only and most cell phones work throughout the property. Along with basic maintenance of animals, (I specialize in breeding/hatching heritage breed poultry (Chickens, Ducks, Turkeys, Guineas, Pheasants, Quail, Geese, etc.) I do have small pens of chicks in the house. On the farm, there's lots of clean-up to do (inside and out) (mowing lawn, splitting, cutting, stacking firewood. Cleaning, cleaning and more cleaning. If you're a handyman/woman, even better: Barn lofts need repairing, coops shelters need building, fence posts/fencing put up, LOTS of junk cleanup, lawn, mowing, gardening, windows need installing, electrical, plumbing, snow shoveling, you name it! I've no tractor but a wheelbarrow, lots of seeds and some shovels. Indoors, re-insulating, new drywall, electrical and plumbing are slowly coming along. It's slow going but progress is made. If you're up for a challenge this is the place to be.
The land is beautiful, and the animals friendly.

I've a secondary business on the property where I produce dried apple chips. Canning and preserving as well.

Town life can be found 10 km's away for a small shoping center or a little further to the "main mall". I'm surounded by crown land and bush trails with lots of wildlife incase you wish to see more.
Sudbury is the Blueberry capitol! There's lots of wild blueberries to pick during the summer, which you're welcome to participate in. (We've had a couple hard frosts here and Blueberry season ended early. Great sight-seeing with The Big Nickel, Science North and the Mine. Beautiful lakes, hiking trails or just chilling on the beaches.

I deal with Heritage breed birds, strict breeding programs and hatching. Am expanding with cattle and goats and whatever else comes my way.

Must be able to follow directions precisely.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use