help exchange   Host 2068
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Llanfechain
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 30
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 2068
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 11, 2017

Ideally looking for experienced horse help or someone qualified to look after an 18 month old for the odd hour or someone with farming/tractor driving skills. Couple and friends most welcome.


Most reviews are from Devon but we have recently inherited a falling down farm house with 73 acres in mid wales near Shropshire border. We have moved all our animals up and desperately need help especially anyone with building gardening and general landclearing skills as well as people with good horse knowledge. The house is very old and listed and falling down ( with trees growing through the roof) so we live in static caravan with power, water and heating. It is beautiful up here. We would consider a long term arrangement for the right person but as a rule we say two weeks and see how things go.
We run a small horse rescue charity ( we already do the work but need to fundraise to get charitable status) so there is lots to do and it often involves mud and horse dung - so it you hate either this is not the place for you.
The place is nothing fancy and you must genuinely love and be confident around dogs - we have four and they pretty much run the place - so please don't expect then to be shut outside as they are pets. We also inherited 18 cats with the farm. The do not live in the caravan with us but they are around a lot.
All welcome but must have a GSOH and be flexible. There would be opportunities for horse riding in your free time in evenings ( always happy to teach people the basics as I used to run a trekking centre). Experienced riders would be welcome to do far more including bringing on yougnsters and local shows if they wanted.
It is a very rural area and not very much in the village - so not the place for people that want to go to nightclubs so if you are prone to cabin fever and don't have transport of your own this is not the place for you.
Also people need to be happy to work on their own initiative and accept that while we want you to enjoy your stay we are not on holiday ourselves and have a young son and cannot entertain our helpers all the time, so please think carefully about this if you are a solo Helpexer who always needs company.
That said we do drink occasionally but have historically had some bad experiences with heavy/daily drinkers so no more of those please and we prefer non smokers.
Honest, hardworking and genuine people only please who are happy to get on with things and are really love and are confident around animals.
Sewing skills are also useful for mending horse rugs etc as would be people who are keen to help on the fundraising side.
We would also love people interested in helping us to sell off lots of things we have inherited to help with build costs.
Please note our first 15 reviews were from when we were in Devon.
Accommodation here is basic in a portacabin with electric and heat and wifi but it only has a chemical toilet and you need to shower etc in our caravan. Lots of great camping spots though.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use