help exchange   Host 21012
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Alzen
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21012
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 4, 2017

C'est la rentrée!! ......lots of fruit, nuts and other bounty to harvest and store.....

We are presently renting the other side of Foix from the house we are renovating up the mountain from Montferrier village and the accommodation here is limited to a caravan and or tents (in the summer) or camper/live in vans..... on the land here we are experimenting with permaculture, there are fruit and nut trees and we may soon be getting some grazing animals to help keep the place clear and to produce food and manure!!

our lifestyle is hands-on so there are always many jobs large and small (ie gathering wood,gardening, smaller building jobs etc as described below).... we have chickens, ducks, a dog and two cats



Bonjour!
We are a family of four (Simon 43 , Liza 43, Molly 19 now left home and Oran 8), renovating a 300 year old stone farmhouse at 1000 metre altitude in the Pyrenees we are using locally sourced timber, natural insulation ( sheep's wool,straw bales),lime and sand.

We provide accommodation on site in a caravan in exchange for 4hrs work a day (plus helping with general domestic tasks), we serve healthy meals (mainly vegi, fish or meat not usually more than once a week) that are cooked from scratch using local and organic ingredients when ever possible .......... if you have any special diet requirements let us know (we can generally adapt).... Also please bear in mind that although we share a glass of wine or beer every now and then we do not provide alcohol with every meal or every day ....... but herb teas a volontee!!

Children very welcome.

Flexible hours based on 4hs a day, but can regrouped into full days leaving you free the rest of the week to hike/explore the area etc. It's not a total boot camp but mountain living does require a certain level of grit! ...... and we do expect you to chip in to domestic tasks too your living with us not paying guests!!

We also make time for creative pursuits. Music ,yoga, ragrugging and other creative recycling ... and are involved in various associative and social activities in the area.

It is a beautiful,peaceful area for walking and other mountain pursuits,

where we live is fairly isolated and suits people who seek to get away from the hustle and bustle to a calmer and simpler life

hope to hear from you
Liza and Simon

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use