help exchange   Host 21242
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Grimstad
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 21242
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 16, 2015

We are a young couple (Eva and Per Christian, 38 and 36 years old, with a 2,5 year old baby) that runs a farm on the south coast of Norway. The farm operates with blue muscles cultivation, oysters and tourism. We also cultivate some land and forest and plan to have some sheep this year.

The farm is located by the Fjord in one of Norway's most popular summer resorts. We have our own small beach and pier. The area is the best site for enjoying the nature. Fishing with a rod and nets is an everyday activity. Here you also have the possibilities for watersport like kayaking, sailing and waterskiing. Kayaks and motorboat will be at your disposal, and you can borrow a car when needed. There is also nice bicycle routes and hiking trails in the area.We will need help with:
-work on the shell farm, and with picking oysters.
-house, garden and babysitting.
-fencing for the sheep.
-building a small summerholidayfarm on an island nearby to be rented out to tourists in the future. In this farm we are reconstructing an old house, and building a small barn. For this specific job, we are looking for persons with carpentry skills, and some with electrical or plumbing experience. Work to be done in this place: Build a stair in stone in front of the house (so anyone with related skills are welcome) Lay tiles on the 1st floor in the main house. Build a small toilet house (in norwegian called ”utedo” (see small drawing) and put up panels, some windows and doors and build a staircase in the barn.


We need volunteers from now; early April 2015. Couples are welcome.
We are mainly searching for persons that can stay for at least a month or two/three/four/five;). But persons with specials skills as mentioned above are welcome for a shorter stay. Extra effort or skills will be rewarded.


(To summarize this) we will need:

2 persons at the time for the shellfarm. No experience required, but you must be strong and hardworking. Open time: From mid March til end of May.

2 persons at the time for the building on the island: Experience with carpentry, stonework, plumbing or electricity. Open time: from mid April til mid October.

1 person for help in the house, garden and babysiting: Open from 1st of july

Ps: If you need time of for traveling or vacation, it is ok. we are flexible.

We expect visitors to help in the kitchen. You will have free Internet connection in the house. Some meals are prepared together, and some on your own. Seafood, deer and elk is on the everyday menu.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use