help exchange   Host 21331
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Hobart
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1/4 acre
Persons: 1- 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21331
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 21, 2018

HOBART RIVERFRONT HOSTS: Friendly, kind, fair hosts require help with renovating; gardening; landscaping and general housework

**** Ivy has arrived back from China, to study at UTAS. And Pierre has just left us, after an 8 month stay in our home. We are expecting Asmaa hopefully in April, so we are currently FULL & wont have any availability until probably September. Our profile will be updated, if we have a cancellation or some dates to offer. Happy holidays to you all!!!********

Our family: 2 adults (mid 40s), 2 children (13 & 14) & friendly dog ('Lucy') would like to invite you to stay. NON-SMOKERS PLEASE. Our house is located on the edge of the Derwent River in Hobart & it's a 15 min drive to the city (CBD)or 25 mins by bus (bus stop outside our house). We have bush & river walking tracks at our back door & have our own canoes & windsurfer(sail board) available for use. We swim/kayak/fish in the River right outside our back gate. Nearest beach is short walk away!

We need Energetic and flexible helper/s from both group 1 & 2 (see below):
GROUP 1: With renovating experience or some trade experience, to help us renovate our home & landscape the garden. The majority has been done, so the house is already very comfortable (great kitchen; deck; sunny; good bedrooms, warm, 2 bathrooms etc), but there are still many projects remaining.
GROUP 2: People who DO NOT have renovating experience, and will probably help with household jobs, such as cleaning; cooking (if they like to cook ) or gardening. Plus, we will definitely get you to help with easy renovation jobs and will teach you how to do each task.
*****People who HAVE RENOVATING SKILLS will usually do that & not many household jobs. Pretty much you'll be doing a job that suits your interest or skill & we have all the equipment to make the work enjoyable & the view from your 'office' is amazing!!,

We require 4 hours of help/day (28hrs/week)in exchange for: guest bedroom (comfortable beds & linen); meals (we like to cook!); good WIFI; free laundry; help with your English; Airport/city pick-ups.
-------- For Helpers with TRADE QUALIFICATIONS we will accept 20 hours of help/week.-------------------
As we both work (Tim works all day Monday-Fri; Elisia works part-time), you will need to be happy & able to work alone most of the time (unless there's another Helper). We are happy for helpers to work their hours as they choose. Longer days can be worked to build up hours, so that you can have days off when you want.

All helpers have a private bedroom (if travelling together...you will share the room with your friend). MINIMUM 2 WEEK STAY. Longer stays preferred: usually we confirm 4 weeks maximum BEFORE guests arrive & then extend departure dates AFTER guest arrives, if guest wants a longer stay. Let us know, at time of booking, if you think you may want to extend, so we don't OVER-BOOK!.

We love outdoor activities, in particular bushwalking & have many National Parks close by. We regularly 'thank' our helpers by taking them on day trips (if they are interested). We own an 8 seater, four-wheel drive vehicle & enjoy exploring. Most past Helpers chose to do a little more than 4 hours/day, so that they could have 2 days off every week & they generally all chose to come on our sight-seeing tours!. There's usually bushwaking (bring walking shoes!); spectacular scenery & animals involved. We are very flexible & fair hosts, who expect the same from our guests. Read our reviews...you'll get an idea of what experiences we offer :-)

When applying to stay with us, PLEASE LET US KNOW: What interests you about our Homestay (eg why you chose us); your interests; skills or experience (if your profile doesn't have those details); arrival & departure dates (even approximately). On YOUR Helper profile, it's a good idea to have: detailed description about your interests; work skills & other experience you have had.....we always read your profile BEFORE deciding whether to accept you. We will reply to ALL applications, so please be polite & reply to us, even if you've chosen another host or decided not to come to us. Thanks.

***Sorry, we can not sign hours for second year visas***

We look forward to meeting YOU!

Elisia & Tim :-)


********GUESTS for 2017: JANUARY: Xavier and Cyril both left after 4 weeks & Annika (Germany) was here for 2 weeks. Clement & Clair( France) stayed for 3 weeks & Luke (USA) arrived for 4 weeks. Fleur & Hugo (France) arrived for 3 weeks. FEB: Luke left mid-month and Fleur & Hugo left 21/2. Florian & Jordi (France) arrived for a 4 week stay. MARCH: Ivy arrived (china) for couple of month stay & Florian and Jordi extended and left end of March . APRIL & MAY: Ivy still with us. JUNE: Ivy, and Christoffer (Denmark) here for 3 weeks & Demi (UK) is here for 6 weeks. JULY: Ivy off to Sydney & Demi left at end of July...AUGUST: Peirre (France) has arrived. He's here until March 2018. SEPTEMBER: Pierre still here and Ivy (back again). OCTOBER: Ivy & Pierre NOVEMBER: Ivy left early in Month. DEC: Pierre going home for X-Mas. JANUARY 2018: Janice (Scotland) has arrived for 2 months and Pierre is back with us. FEBRUARY: Pierre and Janice are both here all month. March: Janice left on 4/3 and Pierre has just left to move on to New Zealand. Ivy is back with us now, to study at UTAS. APRIL: Ivy here and Asmaa (Morocco) arrives. MAY: Ivy here till late August. Thanks to Helpx for amazing cultural exchanges already experienced...and many more to come!*****


The photos (Clockwise from Top Left):
1. Sliding fun: Joakim (Sweden) at Crescent Bay
2. Sunset over River (view from our house)
3. Russell Falls (Mt Field National Park): our children with Pete (Netherlands)
4. Proof that 'our' Dolphins do exist!!! :-) Picture taken right outside our house.
5. Kiki, Ivy (China), Laurie (France), Elisia (Host 'Mum') and our daughter, Migali visiting Bruny Island
6. Tate (our son) on the Swing bridge over Picton River (Tahune Forest)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use