help exchange   Host 21654
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Leatherhead
All Year: Yes, not Christmas
Area (ha): .65
Persons: At the moment just 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21654
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 2, 2014

You must be organised, use the time effectively and be able to work on your own. Conscientious with an eye for detail and have initiative. ...oh, and a open minded sense of humour is a must, we can get a bit silly around here! Experience and confidence with dogs is important. We have 3, two are Australian Cattle Dogs.

The main work this time of year will be tidying the garden, preparing the vegetable garden.

General daily 'housekeeping' housework, ironing and help with cooking and ideally someone who could cook the evening meal once or twice per week.

We also want to continue the work needed on the outside of the house, cleaning and painting.

You will also be looking after our chickens and that also includes cleaning their coop once a week. We also need help with planting and maintaining our fruit and vegetables. It can get very muddy here when we have rain, so outdoor clothing, wellie boots/waterproof footwear are a must and if you can bring your own work gloves would be useful.

Work days are Sunday-Friday, 5 hours a day. Days off are Saturday and usually one day during the week or Sunday to be arranged. You will eat with us most evenings, but Friday and Saturday and your day off you will cook for yourself in your accommodation, with food supplied, so we can have some 'family time'.


We require help with:
Housekeeping:
*General everyday cleaning of family home; vacuuming, dusting, cleaning floors.
*Laundry and ironing.
*help with cooking of family meals and some cooking, baking
*Help with family pets, feeding, grooming. Dog
*Experience in painting (especially outdoors) and maybe some decorating would be an advantage
*Occasional babysitting

Most of this work is for the summer months:
If you do have any trained skills; carpentry, building, electrical, that would be a great bonus for us but any strength, plenty of stamina and a willingness to give it a go is is fine as we don't expect you to have all the skills needed to help with all our tasks, but anything helps tick them off our list, not in any order:
*Exterior painting
*building repairs
*carpentry
*Interior painting and decorating
*General groundswork, clearing weeds around the garden - all year
*Vegetable plot: watering plants, weeding beds, harvesting, digging - all year
*moving and tidying 'stuff'
*Cleaning out the chickens coop - all year
*building a run and housing for pigs. - a plan for the future
*building outside wooden deck
*roof repairs
*minor electrical work (caravan repairs)
*managing our light woodland and clearing the pond
..I'm sure there's other things I can think of.....!

We don't smoke and we are not vegetarians but love good home cooked food (and curry!).

We live in the Surrey Hills near Leatherhead and Dorking, in a semi-rural location, down a muddy track. We have recently renovated our house and detached cottage but there is still plenty of work to do on limited funds. We have approximately 1.5 acres of garden and woodland meadow, pond and a few outbuildings and a vintage caravan!

We are just a short walk from the village with a few useful shops, supermarket, chemist, chinese and indian take-away and restaurants. In the other direction, at the end of the road you will find yourself on over 500 acres of woodland with rare butterflies and some bird watching if you're interested!

There are a variety of historical National Trust properties, an world award winning vineyard, the London Olympics road race course, theme parks and other areas of interest all in this area. We are amongst some very beautiful English countryside to explore but also near some larger towns if you want to explore the shops! We have a main line train station 15/20 mins wals, 1k walk from the house, running to local towns and direct to London, so you can be in central London in under one hour. We are also within one hour's drive to the coast. Gatwick and Heathrow airports are also only 45 minutes drive. So we have it all here!

Accommodation

We have a detached cottage with double bedroom, shower room, living room, kitchen and utility with washing machine and tumble dryer for your laundry
Food will be provided, either eating with us or cooking for yourself
Linen and towels provided. Wifi available in the cottage and house.
You are expected to keep the cottage clean and tidy at all times. Cleaning must be done in your own time, not during work time.

What else ...

We are a busy family struggling to find the time to get everything completed as well as enjoy a family life! Mr V works long hours Monday-Friday in a stressful job in London but loves to work outdoors at the weekend. I'm at home most of the time trying to do what I can while our daugther is at school, but the day goes fast with little progress by the time I've done the housework, laundry and walked the dogs..... Hopefully we can host some lovely people to join our family and help us out! Send us an email if you think you would like to join us.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use