help exchange   Host 21776
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Exeter
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21776
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 9, 2015

***Update***
Not living on the Isles of Scilly any more as I have decided to re-train as a Lawyer, currently living in Exeter (Devon). But as we had such good experiences with Helpx before, and have a spare room available, I am offering a room and food in our Exeter home in return for acting as a tutor for my 12 year old son for 2 hours per day (as he is currently home-educated), and generally entertaining him on Tuesdays and Thursdays while I have lectures. We prefer a good standard of English as we haven't managed to become very multi-lingual yet, and my son is very keen on sports (particularly football) so would appreciate someone who was also enthusiastic!
I also intend to try making some of our furniture, and am setting up an indoor growing system to produce our own salad crops so anyone with an interest/knowledge in this area would be particularly welcome (but not essential)! We also like to make as much as possible of what we use, so homemade jam, wine, baking and crafts are other interests. We have spent nearly a year as helpx volunteers and have had some very good experiences so anyone new to the game who wants advise on good places or things to avoid we are more than happy to share our experiences!
We live less than 5 minutes from St Davids train station so easy to get to via public transport. Recommend stays of about 2 weeks, starting as soon as....
Look forward to hearing from you.



Small wholefood cafe on the Isles of Scilly. Looking for helpers for this summer, starting as soon as possible. Tasks varied according to skill levels and experience but can include bread baking, filleting fish, baking cakes, pies and soups, waiting tables,and probably quite a lot of cleaning and making cups of tea. Also opportunities to help with the farm animals and vegetable growing, and even a fishing trip or two for the more adventurous.
I would expect 20 hours per week help in the cafe in return for food and accommodation. For those willing to work extra hours during busy times there will also be paid work available. Accommodation will be in a small garden flat, probably sharing kitchen facilities with other helpers, but as I will provide most meals in the cafe/bistro helpers will not have to cook often unless they want to.
St Martins is a very beautiful island, and ideally suited to anyone with sporting interests- we have cricket, rowing, tennis, bowls, running, triathlon, diving and seal snorkelling- I also have lots of books, and can teach knitting, sewing, wine or jam making to anyone interested. I try to take helpers out for a meal and drinks, or a day trip to one of the other Island when I can, but I do work long hours myself so would need helpers who can entertain themselves most of the time.
Experience in catering or food preparation preferred, and good english is a must I'm afraid. I am very generous with good food and drink and try to include helpers in any social occasions I or my friends may have, but I do expect reliability, honesty and a fair amount of work in return.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use