help exchange   Host 21835
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Alhama de Granada
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21835
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 22, 2013

The cottage set on a working farm surrounded by olive groves, almond orchards and grain fields although we ourselves are not farmers. Our neighbour's goats, sheep, horses and chickens roam, often freely. Stunning scenery, perfect walking country yet only 2.8km from the historic town of Alhama de Granada and the walking routes of GR7 and Washington Irving Literary Route. Granada 1 hour and Malaga approx. 1 hour 20 mins. Seville and Cordoba around 2 hours.

We are setting up as small, exclusive dog kennel, behaviour, rehabilitation and workshop centre. The work needed is weeding/strimming, painting/weather proofing and setting up veggie garden along with the occasional bit of wall fixing. Once we are running, work helping with the dogs - cleaning the living and play area along with walking will be available. I will also sometimes require assistance with training them to pull a sulky (dog carriage). Currently this is just the harness work and so you might be asked to ride a bicycle for us to follow!

We are happy to cater for vegetarians and vegans. We provide all the makings for breakfast and lunch but we all generally help ourselves at these times and then I cook the evening meal which we take together. This is the easiest way because our timing for breakfast and lunch can vary each day depending on the work we are doing. Helpers must like dogs and cats and in particular be comfortable and confident around big dogs! One week or so at a time available - Mostly 4 hours per day but there may be the odd 6 hour day.

Easy to walk or cycle into town, but happy to give lifts and arrange some site seeing. We like you to enjoy your stay but please do keep in mind that we can't fund your site seeing or bar tab!! We do appreciate helpers who show mindful awareness and consideration of all things in our home, to our animals and who treat things with care.

Wifi is available at the cortijo and when it is hot there is a swimming pool that you are welcome to use in your time off. There is also a lovely stream that runs most of the time and some guests enjoy relaxing there with a book or swimming in the rock pools. We are both English and therefore English speaking, but we are learning Spanish and happy for any practice we can get. Because of this we particularly welcome Spanish helpers. Some of the work we require is simply speaking with us in Spanish!

Helpers have the use of a comfortable private bedroom and the use of a separate private bathroom. Washing machine and drying facilities are available.

Next available week to be decided... but we expect to to be in 2014

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use