help exchange   Host 21862
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Ashburton
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 21862
Region: South Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 29, 2017

We have a quaint, very rural, small farm, close to southern alps where some of the lord of the rings movie was filmed.. It is quiet, peaceful, lots of birdsong. We are approx 100 km from Christchurch, 40 km from Ashburton, 25 km from Geraldine and 60 km from Timaru.
We embrace a variety of organic principles having chosen from many methodologies those which are best suited to this properties needs.

This is a family home to me, my adult daughter and granddaughter, my son and grandson and mother and stepfather. We each have separate accommodation on different parts of the farm.
We expect our helpers to be a part of our family whilst they are here. We enjoy the interaction and conversation. If you are open minded, friendly and chatty you will fit in well. This is definitely not the place to be socially awkward!

Our animal friends are some horses and ponies, a house cow, a variable number of calves, chickens, dogs and house cats. Occasionally we have sheep as well.
If you suffer from allergies to animals, or don't like dogs or cats this is not going to suit you.

Our house a river stone cottage, and is modest (like a kiwi batch!!) but comfortable. Accommodation is a caravan close to the house. It has a double bed and 2 bunk style single beds. Depending on numbers staying you may need to share accommodation. You will have access to the house for bathroom and the lounge to watch tv or play games in the evenings.
The house is definitely not the hilton.. it is a very basic modest home, but it is my home so i expect you to respect it.

The lounge is reasonably spacious with a good television with sky, heaps of board games including chess, cards, yahtzee and scrabble, dvds and books. I have an old PlayStation with lots of sing star karaoke games for those bold enough to try!!!

I am a good cook and provide good nutritious and healthy low gluten meals. We eat meat, but no pork or pork products. I grow my own herbs and vegetables and am constantly working on extending the gardens.
I am deeply intuitive and like to work with body mind and spirit and like exploring alternative healing methods. I have some skills with osteopathy and a reasonable knowledge of herbal remedies and wild edible food sources.
i like to keep an open mind.
I enjoy having people staying and like to make them feel comfortable and at home.

Work types can include helping with animal care, all manner of farm and gardening activities, plant propagation, fencing, painting, repairs and maintenance, collecting firewood, assisting with baking and food prep and basic housekeeping duties.. Work is usually varied and no one is asked to do anything I wouldn't do myself if I were able.
Work is five hours a day.

Most of the work is generally more suited to men so I don't often take groups of women alone (unless I have fellas staying already) but I am happy to take mixed couples and groups with both men and women together.
Couples are very welcome as the group synergy seems to work well in our environment.
We have got on so well with some people they have ended up staying for more than 3 months!!

I respect those who stay and expect to be treated in like manner. I work on principles of MUTUAL exchange. I will provide you with a homely place to stay and good quality meals in exchange for five hours per day work around the property.
I expect you to embrace the spirit of help exchange fully and give from your heart. IF YOU ARE NOT INTERESTED IN WORKING AND DOING YOUR PART DO NOT ASK TO COME. It costs me a lot of money to host people and I am not wealthy. This has to be mutual exchange, not a free ride for you. People who do not treat this as a mutual exchange will be asked to leave.

I suffer from Crohns and chronic pain, though most of the time you wont even know I am in pain as I do not like to make a fuss. Because of this you may occasionally be working at a task on your own.

Saturday is our Sabbath, so no one works on a Saturday. Evenings are spent either playing board games or cards, or watching movies. I also enjoy an occasional glass of wine. (and of course cheese!!!!)

There are free to use public tennis courts about 500 meter walk from the house and a free to use public swimming pool in summer months. There may be the opportunity to ride a horse or motorbike while you are here, but this is not a given as many things are considered before this happens. Most people who stay are taught to ride the quad bike as this is an integral tool used in our day to day activities.

NOTE: cellphone reception on skinny and vodafone is terrible here so be prepared for that!!! On the good side we now have wifi so internet access is all good!! Phones are not used during the working day.

The closest town in Mayfield, some 13 kilometers away. Ashburton is 37 km from our home and Geraldine 25 kilometers. I am happy to pick people up from the i-sites in geraldine or ashburton if pre-arranged.
I prefer people to stay for a minimum of one week, and longer if everyone is getting on well. If you want somewhere long term and we all get on well then you are welcome.

If you have a good sense of humour and like to live quietly and healthily, have a good appetite and enjoy working out doors then you will fit in here well!!! Please be sure to view our feedback!.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use