help exchange   Host 2225
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Killarney
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 1 - 3 people
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 2225
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 22, 2017

We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children, living on a dairy farm, with polytunnels and raised beds for vegetable growing.

We cater for both vegetarian and non vegetarian volunteers. If they wish, vegetarians can prepare their own meals, and anyway, it would be a new experience for us! Claire is limited in her experience of cooking principally vegetarian food but is learning fast!

We will need people for seed sowing and transplanting in Spring and early Summer. During Autumn and Winter, we would be doing some stone clearance, building of walls and paths and some general maintenance of the tunnels etc. Usually, we don't take people in December as there is little work to be done on the farm at this time.

We have recently converted a farm barn into a 2 bedroom unit with a kitchenette/living room area and a bathroom. It can accommodate up to 3 people, but usually we take 2 people at a time, unless we are particularly busy (during June mainly). We find it is nice for helpers to have some company to work with and have time off with at weekends, exploring the county.

We live in a rural area, but have towns and picturesque scenery within a short distance of us.

We live 6 miles (10km) from Tralee and 12 miles (18km) from Killarney, which have both bus and train services. There are beaches nearby and many towns to explore within a 20 mile radius (e.g. Killarney, Dingle, Kenmare etc). We also have bikes and helmets which you can use to explore the area if you wish.

People usually tend to stay with us for 1 - 4 weeks. Claire works in Tralee and can drive people into town (Tralee) sometimes, to shop or to use bus or rail transport. We also have an airport 4 miles away which services Dublin and London on a regular basis. Claire usually picks people up from the nearest bus/train station in Tralee.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use