help exchange   Host 2284
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Sligo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 2284
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 11, 2017

One or two helpers very welcome now, because I have travelled away for 6 months teaching and helping in Kent.Mostly fencing/digging post holes to fence out sheep.Garden weeding and planting with landscaping project. Also a long term vacancy is available if you have motorbike,bycycle,Car/Van etc, as i intend travelling again as my sister has a Welsh farm. Garden hand weeding. Indoor stable pointing and limewash painting with lime putty and natural lime. Improve your English conversation,and share with Swedish student with perfect English! West Sligo location on mountain above N59,viewing the Atlantic ocean and Strandhill. Just text/mail me to ask? At different times of the year, just contact me, to see if i have a spare helper place? Medical health insurance, is your own responsibility, as is horse riding/ sports, personal accident insurance. I provide shared, open plan, (cottage part) of my farmhouse,( not a separate building),with your own cooking/food preparation area.I follow my own food programme,( in my own kitchen), as i do not use sugars/ salts/ oil in my food!! My metabolisim is not fast enough, but i love to share salads and vegetarian meals, with you at lunch time for chats etc!! Mezzanine half lofts,one double. Instant hot, electric shower,in house, next to living room, private WC, drying lines/room etc for wet gear,(close to famous surfing beaches,)sea fishing/sailing etc, conservatory/sun room. We do multi-tasking!!! (TEFL) English trained native speaker. I have created re-enactments/ Drama/plays and teaching, (freelance), on the Heritage Council web site. School programmes/ Horse Heritage/medieval history. Recently Victorian project,150 yrs,Celebration. Horse/Connemara pony stories/pilgrimages by horse/traditional boat transport from Ireland,to Europe. Biodiversity and creating nature areas/flower meadows, or organic gardens in schools. I teach all my skills, to you at home,just as in the original HEDGE schools. GSOH, I enjoy Community Arts/Art workshops/painting activities. I enjoy world music/cultures/dance,Yoga etc. I have a good timber floor with some bounce for this! We can have a good laugh at life, and be good company. My smartphone has 4G. Vodaphone sim cards work in your own mobile! I go to Farmers markets,and the bigger supermarkets for bulk buying, where i buy all essentials, and your favourite foods for your helpx stay. I teach re-cycling, as no rubbish collection or public services, on the mountain area. My water is very pure, gravity fed from mountain spring well, therefore no chemicals/pollution etc. I enjoy festivals/ music sessions etc. There is a rural transport bus,( door to door service),return tickets, to Sligo city,(23klm) from farm, every Tuesday and Friday mornings. Also daily buses to Ballina & Sligo,Belfast even! Artists/sporty characters/musicians etc, will find much activity/inspiration and peace in the tranquil gardens, with panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. Jobs are varied. Field bramble cutting and weed pulling,cutting with shears, and new strimmer,when flowers pop up in their growing season. New raised beds, as now my polytunnel is too hot in summer,burns my face,so storing timber/cardboard in it as a barn!! I grow seeds in an indoor eastern style,Gloriette,patio garden. Flexability with work times. No set working day/free day timetable, so this is always negotiated, and trips to town, festivals/events etc. Inclusive environment, whatever is happening, i include you, in the transport to it? No late night driving/clubbing for me, but if you want this experience, then you can stay weekends at a hostel in Sligo city, or take a mid-week break). Helpers in Ireland now, can always phone/visit to check, if, they will enjoy my farm experience? We do prefer helpers to have respect for our lifestyle/privacy, and discuss immediately, any problems/expectations. My farmhouse/cottage has one bedroom, en suite, and i live in it. Double for a couple, and Half/lofts for singles.Short working day maximum 5 hours.Free days when you want .Many helpers visit .

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use