help exchange   Host 23225
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Oxford
All Year: From October 2017
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 23225
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 9, 2017

Exchange accommodation for assisting disabled woman in Summertown, Oxford, England.

2016. Six months minimum, following successful trial period of four weeks.

Help for woman with multiple sclerosis living in Oxford. I am looking for people with health/social care training (eg. Physiotherapists, nursing, occupational therapists) who will work for me for up to 20hrs/week which can be arranged to fit in with any other plans you have.

Because the help needed is sometimes of a personal nature, I prefer women to assist me. I am looking for team-minded individuals to live and work with me and in my local community for a minimum of six months.

I am involved in a range of projects. I am very interested in eco-living and generally trying to cut down on using up non-renewable resources. If you have not come across the idea of permaculture before you might be interested to look at the following general introduction:

http://www.permaculture.co.uk/what-is-permaculture

I like growing wild flowers, fruit and herbs. I have a very characterful garden, so I am hoping to find people who enjoy gardening. I would be particularly interested to find somebody who knows about espalier style fruit growing or who is willing to read up about it.

I am a wheelchair user, with an overhead hoist to move between chair/bed/bathroom. I try to do some exercise each day. It would be useful but not essential if you have experience of physical therapies such as physiotherapy or massage. Any training required in relation to my particular needs will be given.

Some assistance is needed at night and so each person will be on duty one night a week, as well as doing a certain number of hours weekly (depending on room size), initially alongside an experienced assistant.
The night shifts (9pm -9am) include helping me to bed and helping a couple of times overnight if necessary.

In exchange for your assistance, you will get free accommodation in a lovely house in the leafy suburb of Summertown in the north of Oxford. The deal includes utilities and access to Wi-Fi. I will ask people to respect that the house needs to be quiet after 10.30 PM.

It is important to find people who are prepared to be tidy and well ordered as it is essential to making the shared tasks work well for everyone.

It is necessary to speak some English as communication (in particular the ability to listen well) is an important part of assistance work.

I have an assistance dog, so whoever lives with me needs to be comfortable with dogs and also willing to support me in my work with her.

You have the chance to take part in an innovative exchange in a friendly, international household, in which hopefully we can work together in a way that feels fair to everyone and is sustainable .

Oxford is a lovely place to be in the UK with plenty of interesting stuff going on. Apart from being one of the U.K.'s most historic and handsome cities, it has regular, fast transport links with London and is within reach of pleasant countryside in all directions.

CV and details of referees please.


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use