help exchange   Host 23688
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Auckland
All Year: Varies
Area (ha): .5 acre
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 23688
Region: Waiheke Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 17, 2017

Hi!

We have a lovely home with a beautiful outlook over bush, which is a 15 - 20 minute walk from Palm Beach on Waiheke Island. We have a kayak available for use and possibly a bicycle too. We are very close to a bus stop and are centrally located on the island. Waiheke is a 35 min ferry ride from downtown Auckland.

We are establishing organic gardens of fruit trees and vegetables and are also part of a local bush and stream restoration project. The food we eat is mostly organic.

I have a variety of work available in exchange for your own room and food and wifi. I provide all food and usually you would be helping yourself to breakfast and lunch and we would have an evening meal together. Your exchange would be four - five hours work per day, with one day off if you are staying for a week. You would also help with some daily chores such as meal preparation, cooking, clean up etc - I would imagine that usually that would be approx 15 mins a day. Of course I would occassionally love a break from cooking! But only if that was something you enjoyed doing.

Mostly the work is in the garden but can sometimes be in the house and if you have good skills in that direction it may include painting or minor repairs. I am looking for people who see it as a working holiday and on your time off you have a beautiful island to explore.

The work is mainly physical so it would mostly suit people who enjoy working hard outdoors. You will be doing some weeding (sometimes a lot of weeding!), perhaps some planting, pruning, mulching, watering, constructing beds for planting, seed sowing, composting or compost pile building.

I have two cats and a dog.

We enjoy having people from other countries come to stay and to hear about life in your country.

Thanks
Wendy




Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use