help exchange   Host 24368
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Zafferana (Etna-Sicily)
All Year: no
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 24368
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 3, 2017

***Availability from October 19th until end of November! Help needed for OLIVE HARVEST! Preferably a couple or friends who can share a bed for two***

We are a family of five: Elisa, Vincenzo and three exuberant children of 11 (Tommaso), 9 (Viola) and 4 (Francesco) years. We have a small organic farm situated on the Mount Etna, quite near to Catania, Taormina and the seaside, in Zafferana Etnea. We came here from Milan in 2005 and decided to try to live a more simple life than "city life". Our goal is to be able to maintain ourselves with our little farm and other works that run around it. We would like to be a little bit self-sufficients: it's not so easy but when we can we try tou make our own food and try to buy local food as much as possible. We make our bread, jams, juices, honey, yogurt, biscuits, soaps...and everything we learn to do, when we have enough time to do it!
In our farm we cultivate avocados, olives and other fruits, we make extra virgin olive oil, we have chickens, geese, bees and three goats. We believe that nature can make a lot of work for us, so we try to interfere with it the less we can and limit the use of products on the plants. We studied about permaculture, Fukuoka, organic farming, and other theories and we use all this knowledges in our personal balance.
We're trying to grow our own vegetables, but it's not easy with all the work we have and three children.
Besides country works, Vincenzo is also a sound engineer and rents audio stuff for small concerts during summer months, Elisa writes for some magazines and dreams of writing a book...

We try to live in a natural way, eating organic and local food as much as possible. Elisa likes cooking,in an "italian style" but mixed with different cultures and with her personal style. But she likes experiments and new types of food and is always happy if someone offers to prepare daily food!
We have always shared our house with people coming from everywhere, not only for exchange, sometimes to give someone a place to live. Our children are used to meet people of different languages and "colours", they like it but they need time to mix up with new people, so we prefer if our guests stop here for at least three weeks.
We are both musicians and music lovers, even if in very different ways (Elisa's a classical music lover and not professional violin and piano player, Vincenzo is hard/metal rock lover and drum player and singer!). The two bigger kids play piano.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use