help exchange   Host 25124
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Brisbane
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.0405
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25124
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 16, 2017

Hi,

I presently have no place(s) available.

Happy HelpXing,
Helen
17/1/17

------
General information

Help me with your "handy" building repair skills to fix my, somewhat ramshackle, wooden inner Brisbane workers cottage built around 1900.

Some gardening work may also be helpful. The gardening involves removing specific weeds, mostly one at a time, from amongst butterfly host and other plants. You will need good skills in telling the difference between different plants. You will also need a high tolerance for insects, spiders and other small creatures in the garden - it's a sub-tropical climate in this part of our beautiful and precious earth, so their diversity and numbers can be high at times.

The property is on a 405sq m block and sits in a butterfly host plant garden and nature garden in the inner suburbs. My interest involves reconnecting people with nature in urban settings, especially with butterflies, bees and other beneficial insects.

Are you a naturalist (not naturist) - someone who studies or explores nature and wilderness?
Are you comfortable with and/or you know anything about wildlife, especially insects and other tiny creatures?

Our tiny garden is like a small jungle to most people, it's not neat and tidy, and that's the way I like it.

Staying in my home can offer some unusual experiences. Caterpillars and other harmless small creatures are often being raising inside, mostly in the kitchen.

You need to be someone who doesn't use perfumes, strong smelling spray deodorants or soap and bathing products, and not use many chemicals, including insecticides, etc.

The location of my house is close to the city and accessible by various types of public transport.

In Dec/Jan 2014 I hosted new HelpXers and the experience was delightful. In March 2014 I hosted another, more experienced HelpXer who was fantastic. Since then we've had other HelpXers. They have all been very good experiences.

I'm keen to make sure your HelpX experience is great and that we are a good "fit". Please provide details about your interest and areas of action/activity. Please don't approach me with a generic response. I specifically need to know how you think and feel about the topics I've raised.

Cheers
Helen

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use