help exchange   Host 25402
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Cloughjordan
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.6
Persons: 1 in house 2 camping
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25402
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 23, 2015

** Availability Update!**
We are pretty full up, so at the moment only the following dates are available;
September 14th-27th
October 16th-31st (this is festival time so I'll be looking for reliable, solid crew as well as farm help.)

I live on a small homestead in the midlands of Ireland, from where I run Smallholding Ireland, an information and education site for small-scale food producers.
On my little plot I keep lots of hens and ducks, both egg-laying and meat breeds, plus a milking goat and her kids and pigs in season (fattening only). We also have one dog and one cat.
I experiment with low-impact growing of vegetable, grain and seed crops, and effective ways of helping all these different elements work together.
I run courses here roughly twice a month from March to September, helping people to plan their own projects and learn how to produce eggs, milk, meat and vegetables without spending a ton of money.
I am a middle-aged single mum (in fact, a granny now!)with just one son left at home, and currently I do all this alone. I could really use a helping hand and some moral support, especially at times when I'm busy with other work (such as running a small jazz festival each autumn, or teaching school groups). Help with the crops and animals, help with practical jobs like building sheds and greenhouses, and sometimes someone to make me dinner would all be great, and warmly appreciated!.
Cloughjordan itself is a great place to stay if you're exploring Ireland, it's right in the centre of the country and we have Ireland's first ecovillage development right here in town.
It's just a 5-minute walk from my place to the village with plenty of shops, pubs and music sessions.
I have accommodation for one person in my house, in a bunk bed. If you have a tent, camping out on the field is also possible but this is for summer only... please be aware that Ireland is very cold and wet in the winter (and sometimes in the summer too!) I provide a light breakfast and lunch, and a hearty evening meal, in return for (on average) 3 hours work per day. We can arrange some longer or shorter work days, depending on what else you want to do while you are staying here... and on the weather!
I ONLY speak English, I don't have any other languages, sorry! This means that I can only be a good host for people who speak reasonably good English.
I would prefer to take people for short stays only, please... 1 to 3 weeks. I think it is better to get to know each other before making plans for long stays :)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use